PDA

View Full Version : Square Huon Pine Bowl

Houston
20th March 2009, 03:15 PM
Here is the result of another of the 6 small blanks I picked up in Brisbane last October. It is my first attempt at turning a square bowl. The Huon Pine blank was about 5" square by 1-3/4" deep. I'm not totally happy with what I did with it, but I guess it is OK for a first attempt. I would like to have made the corners drop a bit more and I think I left too much of the walnut base on the bowl (I didn't have it mounted very well and I got nervous and decided to quit before I really messed things up:C).

Gil Jones
20th March 2009, 03:22 PM
Well done, Houston :2tsup:
Very smooth, and fluid curves.:2tsup:

ElizaLeahy
20th March 2009, 04:20 PM
I think it's beautiful. One of my favourite timbers and a lovely contrast with the walnut.

I have no idea how you made it square! I can only make round things on my lathe. I guess it's a special chuck or something.

;)

new_guy90
20th March 2009, 06:26 PM
I think I left too much of the walnut base on the bowl (I didn't have it mounted very well and I got nervous and decided to quit before I really messed things up:C).

it looks better than it would have on the floor :2tsup: really nice work

Patrick

artme
20th March 2009, 06:37 PM
Mate that is very well done and has simple lines.:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Perhaps some lacework with a Dremel in one or two corners will alleviate some of the plainness.

Pat
20th March 2009, 08:05 PM
I have no idea how you made it square! I can only make round things on my lathe. I guess it's a special chuck or something.
;)

Normal chuck/faceplate, but watch the corners that you want to keep. Ouch!