PDA

View Full Version : Nova Compac chuck

dawallace45
5th June 2004, 11:31 AM
G'day , I'm new here and this is my first post on this forum , I have a question I hope some one can help me with , I'm a novice turner , about a year and a half ago I bought a Nova Compact chuck from Timbecon , the order was filled promptly and the chuck arrived a week later , but unfortunately I was extremely ill when it arrived and for several months after so it just sat by the lathe for quite some time and wasn't used , after the illness passed I still didn't get to use the chuck as I went off on a boat and canoe building kick for some time and have only recently gotten back to woodturning , so the first time I used the chuck was a few weeks ago , and so far it has problems , the jaws don't line up straight and there is no repeatability with it at all to the stage that a small bowl will have a run out of half a inch or so if re-chucked , I've gone through and checked that it's put together right , and the jaw numbers line up with the screw numbers but it's still out , is there a problem with these chucks or have I just got a dud ? I bought this chuck because I've never heard any thing but good reports about nova , I asked around in the local woodworking club to see if any one else has had that problem but there doesn't seem to be a single Nova chuck in the area just a whole lot of Vicmarc , my lathe is a Jet Mini with extension bed , I also have a MC-900 that I have to get a chuck for as well , would this be the sort of thing covered by warranty ? would I be better off exchanging this chuck for a standard Nova Chuck ? any thoughts or suggestions welcome

Regards

David Wallace

Wayne Davy
5th June 2004, 12:21 PM
David,

I suggest you contact Teknatool about your problems. You can find all their contact details on their web site
http://www.teknatool.com/index.htm

Jim Carroll
5th June 2004, 06:16 PM