PDA

View Full Version : Having a go at a Natural Edge Bowl

Ozkaban
2nd April 2009, 01:36 PM
Hi,

I was one of the people over in the Pen Forum who took Robutacion up on his offer of pen blanks for pens. Inside the pack was a little lump of she-oak suitable for a small bowl.

I'd almost forgotten about it, but I had an hour or so spare this morning and thought I'd have a crack at it. I've never done a natural edge bowl before (I've only done 2 bowls at all...) but it was quite fun. It's far from perfect - I had a dig-in in the centre that threw it off the lathe. I managed to rechuck it and clean up pretty much all of the dig in. It had a small foot on it but that was damaged so I cleaned it off with a chisel, sanded it and then used a swansdown mop in the drill press to polish it up like the rest of the bowl.

It's sanded to 400 grit, EEE then Shellawax glow. It's about 10-12cm acorss at the rim and about 5-6cm high.

I really loved the way the grain came out - the rays coming up the sides of the bowl is really nice.

Cheers,
Dave

brendan stemp
2nd April 2009, 01:41 PM
Well done Dave good form on the bowl. A lovely little piece. Great timber. I love sheoak and its cousin buloke. Keep up the good work.

robutacion
2nd April 2009, 03:00 PM
Hi,

I was one of the people over in the Pen Forum who took Robutacion up on his offer of pen blanks for pens. Inside the pack was a little lump of she-oak suitable for a small bowl.

I'd almost forgotten about it, but I had an hour or so spare this morning and thought I'd have a crack at it. I've never done a natural edge bowl before (I've only done 2 bowls at all...) but it was quite fun. It's far from perfect - I had a dig-in in the centre that threw it off the lathe. I managed to rechuck it and clean up pretty much all of the dig in. It had a small foot on it but that was damaged so I cleaned it off with a chisel, sanded it and then used a swansdown mop in the drill press to polish it up like the rest of the bowl.