PDA

View Full Version : Knifemaker looking for timber to swap

paternoster
14th April 2009, 11:34 AM
I'm just starting out as a knifemaker (basically practicing different techniques and making knives for close friends and family) and I'd be interested in sourcing some offcuts of some decent hardwood to use for handle material.
I'm willing to pay but I'm still trying to keep my costs down as I'm yet to charge for a knife, so there's no profit involved.
I've got a few bits ringed myall which is proving to be my favourite wood so far and I paid through the nose for a chunk of curly birch, but I'm keen to experiment with different timbers in each knife. I'm up to my ears in jarrah floorboard offcuts but they're not really thick enough to make decent scales.
The sort of sizes I'm looking for are 12x3.5x1cm for scales (a scale goes on a full tang knife - one piece on each side of the tang) and 12x3.5x2.5 for blocks.
If anyone's able to help out I'd really appreciate any assistance.

If you're curious about my knifemaking progress I've been blogging here (http://obsidianrabbit.blogspot.com/)

robyn2839
14th April 2009, 07:44 PM
pm me an address and when i get to the shed i will hunt some out for you ,am sure i have some timbers to suit you that you will love ...........bob

Johncs
15th April 2009, 11:50 AM
The sort of sizes I'm looking for are 12x3.5x1cm for scales (a scale goes on a full tang knife - one piece on each side of the tang) and 12x3.5x2.5 for blocks.
If anyone's able to help out I'd really appreciate any assistance.

I take it if I found you a piece of Tuart, you could cut it to size? I gather it's harder and heavier than Jarrah, and that it would sharpen up your skills.

paternoster
15th April 2009, 12:39 PM
Hi John,

The heavier and harder the better! If you've got some I'd be more than happy to take it off your hands. If you PM me your address I'll send you an express post bag.

Simon

Oh, and yeah, I can cut to size.

DJ’s Timber
15th April 2009, 01:28 PM