PDA

View Full Version : 7x4 box trailer walls

billymm
16th April 2009, 07:52 PM
Hi all.... Im a newbie here & let me start by saying this is a great forum with lots of info

I recently purchased a 7x4 trailer with no top... its basically a bike trailer that I want to turn into a box trailer.

Ive been reading some of the other posts about whats recommended for the floor. So far my options are chequer plate, cypress pine flooring, vinyl flooring - are there any other methods that havent been mentioned yet that work well - Im looking for something harwearing thats not going to break the bank?

What suggestions do people have to make the walls... my first idea is to build a frame out of tube steel & rivet/screw 2/3mm gal sheets to it - any advice would be welcome

billy :;

Yonnee
16th April 2009, 09:18 PM
Billy.
Firstly, :welcomeani:
The decision for the floor mainly comes down to what you're carrying in the trailer. A load of dirt or gravel that requires shoveling out can badly scratch or damage anything other than a steel/aluminium floor. And checker plate is a pain to scrape/sweep out.

If you're east of the CBD, go and see Melbourne Trailers (http://www.melbournetrailers.com.au/), they have ready made, folded sides off the shelf. By the time you muck around with building a frame and cladding it, it would probably work out cheaper and less time consuming to get the prefolded sides and tailgates.

billymm
24th April 2009, 04:11 PM
thanx for the info Yonnee :2tsup:

Ive decided to go with smooth plate for the floor & ordered the walls/tailgate from Melbourne Trailers (who were extremely helpful btw)

It was mentioned that it would be easier to put the floor in first then sit the walls on top... I was thinking long term - when it comes to replace the floor it would be easier to just cut it out rather than having to remove the walls first as they'd be sitting on the floor

Would it be better to put the floor in first, or the walls then cut/weld the floor to suit?