PDA

View Full Version : Air Filter Location

skot
17th April 2009, 08:42 AM
Hope someone can help....

The electrician is coming in next week to put in some extra power points in the shed. I want to have one in the ceiling for a future Air Filter similar to the one shown below.

Where is the best place to have the filter

1) Centrally placed in the shed or

2) Offset to 1 side so the Inlet Filter faces most of the shed

If it is centrally placed would the dust particles floating around the back (outlet side) be hindered from being sucked into the filter. Hopes that makes sense.

Rum Pig
17th April 2009, 08:48 AM
I have no experience or expertise in this field but I would look at the air flow of your shed especially when your turning and try to place your filter in the path of the dust that way is has the best chance of collecting to majority of the dust.

As I said I'm no expert so hopefully some else with more experience can give better advice but that is my thoughts on the problem.

skot
17th April 2009, 08:55 AM
Thanks Rum Pig,

If I put in in the middle, it will still face my lathe..as the lathe is at the back of the shed. Maybe I should put it just forward of the saw table but still facing the lathe, as the lathe creates the most dust.

Texian
17th April 2009, 11:24 AM
Skot,
Seems like if it were in the center (in both directions) it would tend to create an airflow throughout the room which would do the best job of cleaning the air. Remember that its job is to clean the air, not to function as a dust collector. Good for cleaning the air prior to breathing and doing finish work. Not good at collecting a stream of dust from sanding a piece on the lathe.

Tim the Timber Turner
17th April 2009, 12:18 PM
Skot

There is currently an active thread on the product review page.

Check out Microclean MC1000.

Tim:wink:

joez
17th April 2009, 01:32 PM