PDA

View Full Version : NEW Choosing a Router

Don Wallace
23rd April 2009, 12:01 AM
Fellow Woodworkers,

I just purchased a new large router and the experience was very interesting. I'm posting this to share information, but also to let the manufacturers know what happens at the sharp end.
I am a keen amateur woodworker and have owned a Dewalt621 1100w 1/4" router for 12 years which is still going strong :D, and a Triton 1400w 1/2" machine that recently died :((. Triton is now in receivership so I've given up on that. Not being rich, I flogged a few things on E-bay to raise the money to buy a new router and vowed to get a good variable speed machine, that I could afford, but that had a good reputation, a good warranty and solid back up. I read the review on Australian Wood Review issue 53 and I narrowed it down to the Dewalt625E-XE, the Hitachi M12V2 and the Makita 3612C.

I did some research and got the following prices; Makita 3612C from Express Tools @ $515, Dewalt 625E-XE from Norwest Tools @ $470 and the Hitachi M12V2 from Just Tools @ $450. From that I sadly discounted the Makita as being out of my price range :(.

I then went to the tool shops to have a bit of a feel of the DeWalt and The Hitachi.

The Hitachi machine is of very high quality with very good coatings and surface finishes as well as having a high power rating at 2000W. It also comes with a very impressive storage/ carry case that has to be worth having. It has a fine adjuster but I thought the depth adjuster was poor compared to the general fit and finish of the machine. The tool felt good and the plunge felt very high quality. The styling was odd and I don't understand why they go for a style that will fade and look junky in a few years while the tool will probably still be going strong. The price was good but I have to say the thing is massive and extremely heavy compared to the Dewalt. I plan to do a fair amount of hand held work, as well as mount it in a table, so that is an issue.