PDA

View Full Version : crushed concrete for drainage?

meaning
21st June 2004, 05:50 PM
Hi all - I am a newbie so I hope this isn't too off-topic:

We're in the process of preparing to pave a back patio. For this we've had to remove existing broken concrete and do a lot of digging, including a drainage trench. Yesterday I looked at the size of the area and the amount of broken concrete we have to get rid of, and a hopeful lightbulb appeared above my head. Are there any issues with using crushed concrete in a drainage trench or as a paving base?

cheers
Meaning

Bob Willson
21st June 2004, 06:21 PM
Hi meaning, welcome to the board.

How can it be off topic? You just started the thread yourself. :)

Chunks of concrete or of anything solid like that would make an excellent sub strata for a patio. For the drainage trench it would be better if there was a lot more space between the particles such as with large gravel etc.
Is the concrete really crushed or just broken up into smallish lumps?

meaning
21st June 2004, 06:37 PM
Hi Bob - thanks for the quick reply!

Sound like good news :)

The concrete is still in largeish chunks that I was thinking of breaking down further if it's appropriate...

cheers,
Meaning

jackiew
21st June 2004, 06:46 PM
and if there is too much concrete for your patio base you may well be able to offload the surplus to someone local who is doing a similar job who didn't have concrete to destroy first. In UK in my experience people put postcards in the newsagents windows or stick signs in their front gardens offering free clean hardcore ( clean meaning that it doesn't come mixed in with a load of garden soil/weeds etc )

Bob Willson
21st June 2004, 06:51 PM
I wouldn't break it down for the patio, only for the drainage trench.

Rocker
21st June 2004, 07:30 PM
Bob,