PDA

View Full Version : BOO-HOO!! My bowl split!!

adrian
22nd June 2004, 10:05 AM
My neighbour cut down a small eucalypt (200mm diam) and the trunks have been laying around for about 3 months. I cut it into 200mm long chunks and turned one of them into a bowl. It ended up looking quite good for a first attempt.
Got up this morning to find a 4mm vertical split in it.
The split starts at the end of a sap trench. Is it just a case of 'welcome to the wonderful world of turning' or is there something I can do to decrease the chance of this happening?
I turned the bowl in the endgrain. I take it that this the accepted practice?
I have seen pictures of many turned objects that have sap pockets incorporated into the design. Is it the age of the blank or the type of wood that makes this possilble?

macca2
22nd June 2004, 11:48 AM
I am by no means an expert. Only been turning about 3 years and have produced large amounts of decorative fire wood but I don't think you should turn a bowl in end grain. Also the wood may be a little green.
Keep going because it is a bundle of fun learning about the wonders of wood when attacked with a chunk of steel while spinning at high speed in alathe.

Macca

RETIRED
22nd June 2004, 03:34 PM
Gooday.

At the risk of offending you Adrian but perhaps saving your skin I offer this bit of advise.

Get lessons or join a club, read books on turning and practise, practise and practise.

Except in very rare circumstances and some small boxes YOU DO NOT TURN END GRAIN.

Kev Y.
23rd June 2004, 09:20 AM
adrian, What said.. also I think that 3 months may not have been enough time for the timber to dry. you could always turn the bowl down to a wall thickness to an inch (25 mm) or so, then microwave the bowl to dry it out , then re-chuck it and finish it off.

Microwaving is another totally different thread topic.!!!!!

Kev

adrian
23rd June 2004, 11:53 AM
No offence taken . When seeking advice I can never take offence when I get it.