PDA

View Full Version : HSS Blanks for turning tools

Bagmann
27th May 2009, 10:01 PM
Hi everyone. I have been looking around for some new turning chisels and have found the price difference amazing when it comes to buying HSS blanks. Gary Pye and McJing sell blanks very cheap (both claiming to be type M2, which would make them the same as the Sorby, Hamlet etc. tools), butr unning on the old addage of 'if its too good to be true it probably is' with regards to the price of HSS blanks, can anyone tell me if they have any idea if these cheap blanks are any good, given that I am not a professional and they will only receive moderate use.

Thanks in advance

Simon

BobL
27th May 2009, 10:14 PM
Hi everyone. I have been looking around for some new turning chisels and have found the price difference amazing when it comes to buying HSS blanks. Gary Pye and McJing sell blanks very cheap (both claiming to be type M2, which would make them the same as the Sorby, Hamlet etc. tools), butr unning on the old addage of 'if its too good to be true it probably is' with regards to the price of HSS blanks, can anyone tell me if they have any idea if these cheap blanks are any good, given that I am not a professional and they will only receive moderate use.