PDA

View Full Version : Leadbetter expanding chuck

Rod_G
28th May 2009, 02:44 PM
I am a teacher in Sydney and wish to use the expanding chuck on a Leadbetter lathe unfortunately we have lost the bit to drill into the timber.

If anyone knows where we could purchase a new bit it would be greatly appreciated.

Rod

orraloon
28th May 2009, 05:18 PM
Give Bruce a call on 97185395.
If you have the time then call round to pick it up then check out some of the other bits and pieces he has for the lathe. It should be worthwhile.
Regards
John

Manuka Jock
28th May 2009, 05:56 PM
I am a teacher in Sydney and wish to use the expanding chuck on a Leadbetter lathe unfortunately we have lost the bit to drill into the timber.

If anyone knows where we could purchase a new bit it would be greatly appreciated.

Rod

Thats a long trip for work everyday from Liverpool to Sydney and back mate :D

GoGuppy
28th May 2009, 10:46 PM
Give Bruce a call on 97185395.
If you have the time then call round to pick it up then check out some of the other bits and pieces he has for the lathe. It should be worthwhile.
Regards
John

:iagree:

:2tsup:

Hardenfast
30th May 2009, 06:15 PM
G'day Rod. I have a Leady lathe purchased directly from Bruce in Sydney, and I also have one of his expanding chucks. The lathe and the chuck are great - I use the Leady chuck for just about every turning project I do.

However, the first thing I did was throw away the "drill bit" he supplied to bore the mortice hole for the chuck. Far too difficult to use - almost dangerous in my opinion. You'd be much better off to get yourself a saw-tooth forstner bit of comparable size - I think a 60mm bit works nicely. Much easier to use and control and a cleaner cut as well.

They do leave a small centre hole in the mortice, but that's easy to get rid of if it annoys you. I think you'll enjoy using the Leady chuck even more when you've got a forstner bit to mount it.

Wayne

orraloon
2nd June 2009, 03:07 PM
Wayne,