PDA

View Full Version : Maple bowl

Ad de Crom
14th June 2009, 08:51 PM
First on Jeff's request, my way of turning a bowl.
1) rough turning from a wet log (bark already removed) till the rough turned bowl.
Put the rough turned bowl into a paper bag for drying for several weeks.

2) After 4 weeks the bowl lost 20% of his moisture, so back on the lathe for finishing.

The endresult after bringing up three layers blanc transparent lacquer, a maple bowl with the DxH dimensions 220mm x 190mm. Wallthickness 10mm.
In according with the design for 90%.
Cheers. Ad

GoGuppy
14th June 2009, 09:11 PM
Hi Ad

Thanks for sharing your methodolgy for making a hollow vessel with us and what a beauty it "turned" out to be...:2tsup:

I am still a novice in turning and have yet try making anything like your example, but I will get there someday (soon hopefully..:;). Can you tell me, the hollowing support system you use, is that a commercial model, or one you made yourself?

Met vriendelijke groeten
Peter

Ad de Crom
14th June 2009, 09:50 PM
Hi Ad

Thanks for sharing your methodolgy for making a hollow vessel with us and what a beauty it "turned" out to be...:2tsup:

I am still a novice in turning and have yet try making anything like your example, but I will get there someday (soon hopefully..:;). Can you tell me, the hollowing support system you use, is that a commercial model, or one you made yourself?

Met vriendelijke groeten
Peter

Peter, it's selfmade. A couple of 20mm tubes, parts of an old bike, and some handywork. Works great.
Ad

Ed Reiss
15th June 2009, 11:49 AM
Good WIP Ad :2tsup: ...but I have a question, why is your shop so damn clean !? :o:D

artme
15th June 2009, 02:29 PM
Wonderfully clear and concise WIP Ad.:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Like the vase !!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

jefferson
15th June 2009, 03:41 PM
Thanks for the pictorial instruction Ad. And very nice. Again.

Jeff

Ad de Crom
15th June 2009, 04:57 PM