PDA

View Full Version : Where is that damnned Stubby - major gloat

wally peat
23rd June 2009, 03:01 PM
OK, with apologies to Ern and all those who wanted to know what he did with his big black beast, it's been at my place for a week, and I've finally managed to make the planets align sufficiently to post a photo here as proof. (I just hope it's small enough to be allowed on the forum).

By way of introduction as to why I'd buy a machine like this, I could explain how I picked up an mc900 from a school clearout some time ago, liked turning and thought one day when I could afford it I'd buy a real lathe, but I'm sure you can see through that and all recognise a tool s**t when you see one. :o

I reckon Ern's machine was a bargain, I was lucky with the freight and unless it's been badly abused, the work it has already done has barely run it in. Should still be turning things when I've done turning in my grave.

I'm a keen woodworker, and if you want to know my preferences in woodwork, check out my avatar. Unfortunately you can only keep so many boats in the yard, so diversify it is. I have pretty much everything to learn about turning, but I went to a class and really enjoyed using a skew, so I figure the rest of the journey can only get better.

That means I won't be taking up with the Stubby where Ern left off, probably more like I'll be somewhere the other side of where he started, but there's some good woodturners in Townsville, and so far they've been free with their advice and support.

If any of you forumites are in the area and want to come and have a turn, just pm me and we'll arrange a time. Hopefully I'll learn something too.