PDA

View Full Version : Which one of these woodturning books would you choose?

sawtomaticman
23rd June 2009, 10:47 PM
Hi, I'm new to turning, but fairly well versed in most other general woodworking practices.

I am currently looking to buy quite a few used woodworking books that are available to me at relatively low prices- this, after a lifetime of never owning any woodworking related books before (I've always just tried to go about my work without them. At most - I'd skim through magazines and books at book stores or libraries, etc.)

I've always wanted many of the books I'd looked through briefly, or seen mentioned on forums, but was always put off by the sheer numbers there are, and the amount of information there is available out there (just like with most every other subject, really.) I've always kind of hoped to find that one "perfect" book that would cover a topic(s) I felt I'd really "need" a book for in the first place, and not just something that would collect dust after an initial casual read through.

Anyway, I figure of the bunch of woodturning books the seller has on offer, at least one of them should be good enough to get me through the basics and hold my interest as a reference book long after I've read through it once or twice (the more detailed/ colour pictures there are - the better, usually- as far as my learning/ interest habits are concerned.)

So, I was wondering what one book (if any) that some of you would recommend to a new turner (who, otherwise, knows his hand tools etc, quite well), from this list of books that I have a chance to buy from at the moment:

Books that are still available to me:
-Modern Wood Turning by Gordon Stokes (1973)
-The Practical Wood Turner by F. Pain (1974)
-Practical Designs for Wood Turning by Roland Seale (1977)
-Creative Woodturning by Dale L. Nish (1975)
-Artistic Woodturning by Dale L. Nish (1980)
-The Craftsman Woodturner by Peter Child (1981)
-Woodturning Techniques by W J Wooldridge (1982)