PDA

View Full Version : Jet mini-lathe

Toggy
9th July 2004, 09:32 PM
Is anyone on the list using a Jet mini-lathe? Any comments on them please. (the good, bad & ugly welcome as it gives an all round idea). I am thinking of buying one for smaller work as the price is very attractive. (Less than half the cost of a small Vicmark.)

I remember an article in Aussie Woodworker some time ago. I think that the only adverse comment was that the motor had less power than the Delta; but was better in some other ways.

Can't find any posts on them in the archives.

Thanks,
Ken

bitingmidge
9th July 2004, 10:28 PM
I have one coming out of it's box tomorrow!

That means I can't be too objective about them, but noticed that at least two out of every three turners at woodshows etc have one, so that was part of my decision making process.

The other parts were: reviews I have read (all favourable), and comparison with the other machines that I could find. I have no turning experience so my decision should not be relied on! The Jet as usual is up there quality wise, and for once very competitive price wise as well. I do think the VicMark appears streets better, but only you can decide if it's worth the extra dough.

The only negative comments I have had (two of them) related to machines with electronic variable speed, and both owners said they could stop the motors quite easily if they weren't careful with "bigger" stuff. I don't know if that applies to the standard macine.

I would be interested in hearing more as well...any traps for young players?

Cheers,

P

Toggy
9th July 2004, 11:02 PM
Ah, Mr Midge, Was it you who got the last one from Brissy?? If so you must have bought it as I was e-mailing.

e-mail last night said new container due in end of next week.