Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: switch problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    lower eyre peninsular
    Age
    72
    Posts
    2,793

    Default switch problem

    This switch on table saw, has always worked well. Last used 2 weeks ago, been away, shed locked.

    Today go to use saw and it will not turn on with green switch, pull out the big one and saw runs, press the big one (as per usual) to turn off ...not happening, push hard and saw shuts down.
    what goes on??

    ADDED BY ADMIN

    DISCLAIMER
    No liability is accepted by U-Beaut or the Wood Working Forum's administrators
    or moderators for advice offered by members posting replies
    or asking questions regarding electrical work.
    We strongly advise contacting a Licensed Tradesperson for all electrical work.


    WARNING

    Information supplied within posts is not to be considered as detailed formal instructions to complete a task.
    Members following such information do so at their own risk
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I would love to grow my own food, but I can not find bacon seeds

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Age
    2010
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    4,000

    Default

    Could well be full of saw dust open cover and blow it out.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    26,155

    Default

    It sounds counter intuitive but I'll bet the green button is permanently jammed on by sawdust.

    Since the red button overrides the green one its acting as an on off switch.

    Also suggest opening it up and doing what china says.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Warburton, Vic
    Age
    51
    Posts
    13,335

    Default

    Cheers

    DJ

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Westleigh, Sydney
    Age
    75
    Posts
    9,304

    Default

    Yep, what they said. Been there, done that. Also had a case where the red button wouldn't turn it off. Same reason.
    Visit my website
    Website
    Facebook

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,205

    Default

    I hope it is not full of ants. I haven't had that happen in a machine switch but I have had them decide to commit mass suicide in a light switch. Inconsiderate 6 legged bastards. They should have the decency to go die out in a field somewhere.
    My YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/2_KPRN6I9SE

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    lower eyre peninsular
    Age
    72
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    clean as a babys bottom....

    bugga
    I would love to grow my own food, but I can not find bacon seeds

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    26,155

    Default

    id say your green switch Electomagnet is probably jammed on (maybe cooked) - pretty unusual.

    turn on power at GPO and use red switch to turn it on.
    now leave it running and turn power off at the GPO.
    then turn on power at GPO - does it start ?

    If so, green switch is damaged or jammed.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Little River
    Age
    75
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    More likely the green button contacts have fused together or are being forced together. If the electromagnet was jambed on you would not be able to turn it off.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    lower eyre peninsular
    Age
    72
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    BobL, tried that.....bummer no difference. Well, says I what have I got to loose, disconnect power again, pull cover off switch, unscrew both wires going into green button, reconnect the wires and place cover on, turn saw on...still dont work.... oh drrrr plug the power back in..... we have success.

    thanks again everyone. gee this forum is good.
    I would love to grow my own food, but I can not find bacon seeds

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    26,155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tonyz View Post
    BobL, tried that.....bummer no difference. Well, says I what have I got to loose, disconnect power again, pull cover off switch, unscrew both wires going into green button, reconnect the wires and place cover on, turn saw on...still dont work.... oh drrrr plug the power back in..... we have success.

    thanks again everyone. gee this forum is good.
    Hang on Im not saying what I suggested would fix it - I was trying to diagnose the source of the problem.
    Try again;

    Connect machine to GPO
    Start with red button - LEAVE IT RUNNING
    Turn off at GPO - DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING ELSE
    Turn on again at GPO
    Does it start Y or N, is the answer I want you to report back on.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    136

    Default

    it should be clean inside. The switch is IP54 rated.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    lower eyre peninsular
    Age
    72
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    BobL I am not going back,

    Connect machine to GPO
    Start with red button - LEAVE IT RUNNING
    Turn off at GPO - DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING ELSE
    Turn on again at GPO

    NO
    so then I removed power plug from wall socket,
    undid the screws on switch box cover
    checked again for microscopic dust or a womans look not a mans clean as a baby.
    Then loosened the 2 screws that hold 2 wires onto where green switch would be,
    pulled the 2 wires from their place
    replaced said wires and screwed them back in place.
    Put the switch box back in place.
    plugged back into wall.
    pressed green button not expecting anything...........
    holey moley jack its working.
    touched the red button lightly ...saw turns off.



    I dont know but its working the way it should ...happy chappy
    I would love to grow my own food, but I can not find bacon seeds

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    26,155

    Default

    LOL - great - I'm glad.

    Sounds a bit like the FACEBOOK drop out recently - turned out they changed something and just forgot to restart their (DNS) Servers.

    All good.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    lower eyre peninsular
    Age
    72
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    I was wary of the wiring, it can cause sparks and pain goes through your body.

    true story....we had been married 3 weeks and honey bunny asked for a short extension cord. I knew I had a long one under spare bed and both plugs needed, so grabbed said cable sitting on a foam mattress in spare room and wire cutters go snip, BANG shoit a brick. she quietly calls out...you OK?
    making up was a grand time and my recovery was very well rewarded by her.
    I would love to grow my own food, but I can not find bacon seeds

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. lock switch problem on safety door
    By Reno RSS Feed in forum DOORS, WINDOWS, ARCHITRAVES & SKIRTS ETC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th June 2016, 02:50 PM
  2. Solving the problem with magnetic switch and remote nw together
    By Bendigo Bob in forum DUST EXTRACTION
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th November 2014, 09:35 PM
  3. Durden Pacemaker switch problem
    By Grandad-5 in forum TABLE SAWS & COMBINATIONS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18th January 2012, 05:10 PM
  4. Problem with Triton Router TRA001 Switch
    By Big Shed in forum TRITON / GMC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th December 2009, 03:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •