Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    6,984

    Default

    FTTP is a different thing altogether for speed, that is when most people would notice a difference. From a ADSL speed of about 3MBPS we went to 18 on NBN with FTTN then replaced the connection from our private pole to the modem which cost about $30 and instantly went from 18 to 50 actually a bit more. A few months ago everyone I spoke to in the street reported speeds under 10 with numerous drop outs occurring through the town and Telstra promised us it would be rectified on a certain date and it was which surprised me no end. The move to FTTP on request has gone a bit quite lately but I will jump on that when it is offered and I recall it was supposed to have happened by now.

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kew, Vic
    Posts
    824

    Default

    Installed a mesh router system today to overcome dead spots in the house - lots of double brick walls.

    HFC with TPG. Dropoff in wifi from the previous router meant pretty ordinary signal at the end of the house.

    This eveningís results at the top of this list:

    D3E53C1E-89FF-4A50-9A1A-2CEB9B04CA0F.png

    Brian

  4. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Riverhills, Brisbane
    Age
    62
    Posts
    1,195

    Default

    We also have HFC with TPG and we constantly get the following:

    TPG Speed.JPG

    We are on 100/40 so can not complain. You must be on a 250/25 plan

  5. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Not far enough away from Melbourne
    Posts
    3,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skot View Post
    We also have HFC with TPG and we constantly get the following:

    TPG Speed.JPG

    We are on 100/40 so can not complain. You must be on a 250/25 plan
    We are actually on the 100 plan.

    Since I started this thread, we got an email from our ISP advising that the network had been upgraded to allow up to 250 and new plans were available. They are giving everyone a free six-month sample of he faster speed so that we can get hooked on it and give them an extra $30 per month.
    Theory and practice are the same in theory, but different in practice.

  6. #20
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,332

    Default

    I'm on NBN with TPG and I get 53-56meg on a 50 meg plan and in four years I've had less than ten minutes total down time.

    I am more than happy with 50meg, I started on 13.6k dialup - Netscape2 was a 2meg file and it took two hours to download.
    Remember that your speed will always be dependant on your cabling - both street and lead in.
    My place is only eight years old in a fairly new street so I know I have good cabling.

  7. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    25,934

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doug3030 View Post
    We are actually on the 100 plan.

    Since I started this thread, we got an email from our ISP advising that the network had been upgraded to allow up to 250 and new plans were available. They are giving everyone a free six-month sample of he faster speed so that we can get hooked on it and give them an extra $30 per month.
    Our trial was 3 months and its just finished.
    I cant tell the difference.
    SWMBO is the movie TV watcher and says she can't tell either.
    Might be useful if you had a large family all wanting to play games or watch different movies at the same time.

  8. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bundoora, Victoria
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Hang on to your hats guys, I am sure this will create some discussion.
    First of all the NBN is only the piece of string? between the Exchange and your premises.
    I say this because it maybe being blamed unfairly. NO I have never worked for NBN. The NBN does not include your ISP's provisioning which maybe the reasons speed/throughput drops at times.
    It also does not include the cabling/wiring or Wi FI within your premises.

    The SPEED of the (end to end) connection is not as relevant as the THROUGHPUT.
    The Internet works by sending packets of data. If one end sends 10 packets and the other only receives 5 packets (correctly) then those 5 packets have to be re-sent.
    What happens if some of these 5 packets have problems. This changes the effective throughput speed.
    The Ping command is only an indicator. It sends out a message saying "are you there" the other end says "yes" and we measure the time. This is not a Bucket (my terminology) of data.

    Optical Fibre cabling is the Bees Knees for Speed and throughput. It is less likely to cause problems.
    Copper Telephone Cables were never designed to carry Data which presents a problem. On top of this they are mostly not soldered and are sometimes covered in water in the Telecom Pits. Not ideal for data.
    Some telephone lines will have redundant spurs which can cause signal reflections.
    Substandard Ethernet cabling and/or connections within your home can also play a part. Is your PC Network Connetion 10mbs, 100mbs or 1Gbs. This will make a difference if you connect this way.
    I have terminated Cat6 cables before that don't pass the Cat6 standard. If you cut off 20mm of cable and re-terminate them all is OK. It can depend on cable twists within the socket. Better to purchase than make your own.
    Now for the Wi Fi within your home.
    Are you using 2.4GHz or 5GHz Wi Fi.
    If you use a program called Wi Fi Analyser this will provide info for your connection, the channel you are using and are other people in your neighbourhood using the same channel as you. If they are you can change the channel.
    If you use this program on a laptop, you can walk around the house/shed and check out signal strength and performance etc.

    Anyway that's about it for now.

    Dave

  9. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bundoora, Victoria
    Posts
    90

    Default

    My NBN Experience
    I went from ADSL to NBN several years ago. Our area was one of the first to get it.
    I have Optical Fibre to the Desk (FTTH) and about 1 metre Ethernet cable to the router and another to the PC.
    I opted for the 12Mbs speed and have used it until about 12 months ago.
    I only upgraded to 50Mbs because it was an extra $10 a month with the another feature that was in a new bundle.
    I had a 2.4Ghz Router.
    I had several devices connected and never had any issues. I have had up to 4 Ipads and phones plus Netflix and a PC connected with no issues.
    When I got another laptop, I had issues with the Network dropping and re-connecting straight away.
    I used Wi Fi Analyser and found that there were 8 other Networks in my area using the same channel. I swapped the channel in the router. It was marginally better.
    I was given another Router which had 5Ghz which I connected to the first router.
    My lap top never had any more connecting issues. The 2.4Ghz had 13 channels spread between 28 Networks in my vicinity. The 5Ghz has 149 channels with one channel in use (the bloke next door).
    With this router Configuration I had poor 5Ghz signal at the other end of the house.
    I upgraded my router through the ISP to a router that had both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (to get rid of having 2 routers).
    I now get good performance anywhere in the house on the 5Ghz.
    My ISP upgraded me to the 250Mbs speed for a 6 month trial for free. It has now expired and I am back down to 50Mbs.

    I have also run an Cat6 Ethernet cable between 2 rooms in the house with a 5 port switch on the end. My cable is about 10 metres well within the 95 metre limit.

    The bottom line is. You can't control much outside your house but you can improve things within your house.

    Dave

  10. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sydney Upper North Shore
    Posts
    4,320

    Default

    5GHz wireless will give you speed at the expense of distance. 2.5GHz will give you distance at the expense of speed. 2.5 GHz gets me to my back fence with room to spare and 5GHz only to the shed door.

  11. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bundoora, Victoria
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Many thanks for your input Lappa.
    I partly agree with you but it could be the terminology you are using.
    You mention speed difference.
    I can get my 50Mbs (speed) on the 2,4Hgz or 5Ghz Wi Fi. I have not looked at Router specs for a while, but I don't thing the different bands would have different speeds.
    What can change is the throughput. The 2.4Ghz can have problems with Microwave ovens, Mobile phones etc. You may also be sharing the same channel as others.
    I was sharing channel 1 with 7 others, so in theory you are taking it in turns to use the channel.

    Dave
    My 2.4Ghz problem could also have been the wi fi card in the laptop being better at 5Ghz.

  12. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Somerville
    Age
    47
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Lucky buggers. I can only get 30/5 on my crappy FTTN. NBN says I am "adequately served", so sod off. Not loving the $50b+ we spent on this!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. TiN speeds
    By MWF FEED in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th January 2021, 09:20 PM
  2. Feeds & speeds
    By BoomerangInfo in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 19th January 2012, 10:10 AM
  3. Jig Saw Speeds
    By Biko in forum HAND TOOLS - POWERED
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th May 2008, 10:14 PM
  4. R.O.S. What speeds to use for what???
    By ptrott in forum FINISHING
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th April 2007, 09:08 PM
  5. Speeds
    By mjford in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th May 2005, 11:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •