Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,970

    Default Powtran VFD Question

    There is no good place to ask this so I thought here is as good as any. I have many years experience with Powtran VFD's and this is the first time I have had any sort of issue with one. I installed one on my drill press or rather NCArcher installed it and when the drill is started the internet in the house drops out. Turning on the VFD does present a problem only when the go switch is pressed on the control panel of the VFD and the drill starts. I can't remember if the problem was always there and we changed to the NBN somewhere around the time the VFD was installed, if I could remember what it was like on ADSL I might be able to blame the new modem...or not. Has anyone had the same problem or can suggest a fix. NCArcher has suggested a shielded supply cable from the VFD to the drill and I will do that when I get a chance but life has been a bit busy lately.
    CHRIS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Aldinga Beach
    Posts
    358

    Default

    deleted
    Last edited by ericks2; 28th Oct 2019 at 01:01 AM. Reason: ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    23,266

    Default

    Not a problem with NBN but possibly related
    It all started when I replaced the SP pump on my coffee machine with a 3P motor/pump and VFD controlled by a micro controller (MC).
    The problem was the sensors plugged into the MC were outputting garbage and even the MC itself would occasionally restart when the pump motor was started.
    From the outset it was pretty clear it was caused by the VFD because when that was turned off everything else worked fine.
    The problems started with the VFD turned on and motor not running becoming worse with the motor running.

    Solutions I tried.
    The numerical efficacy for each solution was very difficult to determine because everything was interlinked and not always running at the same time.
    The effectiveness of using more than one method was not necessarily summative/cumulative ie If method (a) improved things by 10% and method (b) improved things by 10% the using (a) + (b) did not necessarily improve things by 20%
    a) Loosely completely wrapping the VFD in a sheet of grounded Al foil - heating is not a problem in my app as the VFD/motor/pump runs for about 40s every time a coffee is made - ie has plenty of time to cool down in-between.
    b) Using a shielded grounded cable between the motor and VFD
    c) Adding a ferrite ring to the outside of the VFD-motor cable
    d) Common grounding of every appliance involved back to the exact same ground (VFD, pump motor, coffee machine and MC.
    e) Adding ferrite rings and multiple wrapping of sensor connector wires through the ferrite rings. This was the only thing that tidied up the output of the thermocouple sensor
    [EDIT] f) Filter the mains V - this did nothing for my situation but it may help Chris[EDIT]

    Seeing as you have no sensors and only one appliance involved I would go with all of the first 3 of the above

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,970

    Default

    Thanks Bob, I have also asked Powtran the question so let's see what they say.
    CHRIS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    750

    Default

    I found this guy’s approach to be thorough and sensible. This is the third of about six videos he did covering his VFD conversion, and covers noise and interference.

    YouTube

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,970

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Colin62 View Post
    I found this guy’s approach to be thorough and sensible. This is the third of about six videos he did covering his VFD conversion, and covers noise and interference.

    YouTube
    Thanks Colin, very interesting. What puzzles me is why I have not experienced the problem before this on other equipment as I have been using VFD's for many years or perhaps I did and have forgotten about it. My current VFD on the cyclone has a filter on it and maybe I have had the problem and when I bought the VFD I added a filter to prevent it. Another difference was in the early days I used a 240V VFD whereas this one is a 415V unit as is the one driving the cyclone.
    CHRIS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,970

    Default

    I received this answer a few hours after asking the question.....

    Yes we confirm it is the interference created by the VFD.

    If the VFD is PI9130A or PI500, please try to reduce the value of parameter F0.18 (the carrier frequency), you may need to try several times by smaller values, to see if it can solve the problem.

    Please try and let me know.

    F0.18.jpg
    CHRIS

Similar Threads

  1. New VFD announced by Powtran
    By BobL in forum ELECTRONICS
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2019, 02:41 AM
  2. Quick question - Remote Control for Powtran driving CVMax
    By Flindersia in forum DUST EXTRACTION
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd May 2018, 11:55 PM
  3. N.S.W. Powtran Mini VFD - Helensburgh NSW
    By Chris Parks in forum WOODWORK - Tools & Machinery
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2017, 08:36 PM
  4. Powtran VFD Help Required
    By Chris Parks in forum DUST EXTRACTION
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2016, 05:53 PM
  5. Powtran VFD
    By thorens in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2015, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •