Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 13 12345611 ... LastLast

Default GIS Build in Queenstown New Zealand

Hello everyone, I am just getting started with my build in Queenstown New Zealand. Have the plywood and most of the timber and epoxy arrives next week so I can start making some dust next weekend. We live 5 mins from a 85km long alpine lake so the GIS will be ideal for rigging quickly and going for a blast, but it can blow like hell here so I am looking for some ways to set up the boat to cope when conditions get interesting and we're a way from home. I've done a lot of open coast multi-day sea kayak cruising so some of my ideas come from that perspective.

Ideas I'm working on:

1. Extend the middle seat all the way to the front of the centreboard case. Cut a slot in the front part of the seat so the centreboard still goes in. Leave bulkhead three solid and add a bulkhead (from now on called BH2.5) at the front of the centreboard case so the middle seat is all boxed in. Add flush/waterproof seakayak style hatches to the top of the seat either side of the centreboard. Make BH2.5, BH3 and BH4 out of 4mm ply to minimise weight gain. If I calculated right this will gain about 200 litres of extra buoyancy and gear storage for camp cruising.
    2. Make bulkheads 1 and 2 perhaps 5cm higher, add a lipped rim that goes across the rear of the front buoyancy tank, along the sides of the boat then across the front of the enlarged middle seat. Cover this area with a pvc or neoprene spraydeck with an rim of bungee cord to hold it on.
    3. Make a box section boom and set up the reefing system a la the one shown in the Dinghy Cruising Association website (DCA - A Reefing Refinement)
    4. Set up the halyard so I can drop the sail before I let go of the tiller extension.