Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bendigo Victoria
    Age
    78
    Posts
    16,561

    Default 6040 CNC WIP the journey starts

    Having asked quite a few questions here, and received fantastic answers which were very helpfull in making my decision, I thought I would start a new thread on the actual build/assembly process.

    Whilst I am waiting for my 6040 CNC machine to arrive from Carving-CNC I will be building the base stand it will be sitting on.

    The machine I have ordered is the one without the controller electronics but with the stepper motors. I was originally intending to order the 4th axis with it as well, but 2 factors made me change my mind.
    First of all I would only save about $20 to have the 4th axis shipped with the machine rather than separately and secondly they won't supply it without the controller board. This seems rather odd as they are selling the machine without the controller and I will be getting a Gecko G540 4 axis controller for it. Now I know that I probably wouldn't have saved much if they took out the controller board, but their refusal actually started me thinking that it would perhaps be better to just get the 3 axis machine set up and working and by then I would know more about what is needed as far as the 4th axis is concerned.

    So, you guessed it, I have some questions regarding the stand. I am making a 1200x900 top, which is about 965mm from the floor and sits on a sturdy set of castors, 2 fixed, 2 swivel.

    All the electronics will be housed in compartments under that top and my first question is, how do people use their machine, from one of the long sides or from one of the short sides. If from one of the long sides, which side, with the gantry/spindle on your left or right?

    I would assume that all the switches etc would then be built in to the side you work from, be that the long or the short side?

    Question 2 is would one house the VFD etc in a separate compartment and is a cooling fan (or fans) needed? I have some ex computer fans I can use for this.

    I am thinking of putting the other control electronics, PS and Gecko G540 on a slide out drawer (full extension) so it will be easy to get at, again are cooling fans needed here?

    I am also planning to put the monitor and keyboard in a slide out drawer, above the electronics, or is it better to have the monitor mounted somewhere above the machine?

    I am looking at buying a keyboard that has a touchpad built in, the same as on my notebook, rather than a separate mouse and keyboard.

    I have already purchased a Pentium 4 computer with 80Gb HDD and 1 Gb RAM and 17" LCD monitor, so that part is taken care of. The computer case will also be housed underneath the machine.
    The PC has on-board graphics but has facilityto add a graphics card if needed.

    If people wuld like to post a photo(s) of their setup that would be great, or if you like point me to a thread where you have posted photos.

    .

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Age
    2010
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Port Kennedy, Perth
    Age
    51
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    Good to see Fred. Rod should have heaps of photo's to show. Look forward to see what you do. I went for the 4th axis with the Gecko G540 4 axis controller.
    David
    giveitagoturning @hotmail.com

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    56

    Default

    I have a very strong steel and mdf bench that the thing will fit on but it is only 600 wide so I am going to mount mine side on and have the x axis as the long side. one advantage is then the artwork is in landscape mode and i don't have to rotate it everytime i do a job. Obviously the 0 point wants to be on the left side but then if u use that as home it is in the way of securing the job. So i will mount the limits at the other end and set Mach to use the left front end as 0, Just have to work out how to do it .
    I have some optical interuptors left over from another project so i will use them. These things have an active pullup and pulldown so should be less prone to noise. Hopefully dust won't bother them too much, should be fine with a dust shoe.

    Mike

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bendigo Victoria
    Age
    78
    Posts
    16,561

    Default

    OK, so is the gantry, with the spindle at the start of the X axis, on your left or on your right?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    56

    Default

    U can set it up anyway u like. mine will home to the right and 0 will be on the left. This gets the gantry out of the way to place material. 0 is usually on the left in CAD


    I was just looking at how i will mount the switches and noted how there could have been a few changes to the machine to make it far better. As it is the spindle hangs over the end of the table making it impossible to clamp on that side, the side plates need to be offset about 80mm more than they are. All the "T" slots are under the engraveable area so they are basically useless. Only side that can be clamped is the max end of the long axis. Maybe have to have 2 setups for Mach, one a smaller size so at least the front edge and the outermost T slots are useable, maybe about 380x550. Haven't worked out a way to put some edge strips to create a reference for the 0 edges so it is easier to align the workpiece, maybe just draw some lines. Am starting to think maybe a 20mm MDF top that over hangs the table at the front, 50mm, and both sides as much as possibe

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Darwin HowardSprings
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,197

    Default

    zero is center , run it into its stops( no limit switches ) , then 325x225y offset too zero ( < if that made sense ) 6545CNC
    ??/
    what ever you set up is correct
    i wrote a g-code 0.tap , run it into its stops via keyboard , zero x zero y , run "0.tap" zero x and y , wind down z until it touches paper , then zero z, done
    a wood turning "cross your corners" for center helps bolt down your work peace
    later you will need to set it up with off set , when cutting out from already used material , not that hard

    as long as you know where your zero is , you enter it into CAM , and it works ( any of the 4 corners or center )


    quote >Question 2 is would one house the VFD etc in a separate compartment < quote

    if you cant have 200mm between the gekko's and VDF , put a metal wall between & around them , yes enclosing them you will need fans
    running stepper and VDF wire in the cable chain should be fine , if you put 5 volt "TTL" with them you are asking for trouble ( with out shielded cable )
    i have my electronics above , and run my spindle wires zipped tied with the coolant lines ( 8mm bunnings cheep spiraled compressor hose ) from the top , and run my stepper wires through the cable chains , ( not saying its the way to go , just the way i did it ) should be able to get my dust extraction hose down the middle of the " coolent , spindle wires " and none of my wires are shielded ,just kept apart
    how come a 10mm peg dont fit in a 10mm hole

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Esperance,Western Australia
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Hello Fred,
    I am interested in how this build turns out. For when I have done the CNC conversion to the X2 I want to build a CNC Gantry Router. You have asked a lot of questions that have been going through my head as well. So I am interested in what the collective minds of this forum come up with. Good Luck
    Cheers Gerry

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bendigo Victoria
    Age
    78
    Posts
    16,561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SawDustSniffer View Post

    quote >Question 2 is would one house the VFD etc in a separate compartment < quote

    if you cant have 200mm between the gekko's and VDF , put a metal wall between them ,
    running stepper and VDF wire in the cable chain should be fine , if you put 5 volt "TTL" with them you are asking for trouble ( with out shielded cable )
    i have my electronics above , and run my spindle wires zipped tied with the coolant lines ( 8mm bunnings cheep spiraled compressor hose ) from the top , and run my stepper wires through the cable chains , ( not saying its the way to go , just the way i did it ) should be able to get my dust extraction hose down the middle of the " coolent , spindle wires " and none of my wires are shielded ,just kept apart
    Thanks SDS, I take that as a yes for a separate compartment for the VFD. Yes, I will be using shielded cable, this has come through in so many of the posts I have read..


    The basic design for the CNC router stand will follow the same design ideas I used in my Router Table, it has stood the test of time and has proven a very stable work platform.

    I have made a start today and the base frame is together, as well as the castors fixed on.

    Have also cut the top to size and thicknessed the edges for same, they will be attached tomorrow.

    Will put up some photos then.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Darwin HowardSprings
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,197

    Default

    ??definition of metal wall??? , < aluminium foil glued too MDF will work , but must be grounded

    the magnetic field's wave length from a 50hz wire is 6000km wide ,your spindle at 400hz is still over 1000km wide , a 5mm gap wont matter , you can even use metal fly screen so air still flows ( perforated flat sheet )
    the power of the interference is based on the "inverse square " law , 2x the distance is 4x less , 8x is 64x less

    Your " brawl" of gecko's might like it better in a cage but they come in a metal box to stop them fighting between them selves ??VDF's come in plastic boxes

    6040 control box's are plastic , and there stepper driver boards are open
    how come a 10mm peg dont fit in a 10mm hole

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne - Mexico
    Posts
    655

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Shed View Post
    OK, so is the gantry, with the spindle at the start of the X axis, on your left or on your right?
    Fred,

    For a gantry router I like to have my zero at the front right. This is with the x axis traversing away and towards the back of the machine and the y axis across the machine. As my x axis is the longest I think it suits me when I draw the parts up in cad as I have the longest part drawn across the screen.

    I hope this is clear.

    However, on my X4 mill, as my x axis traverses across me as I look at it and the y axis is again the shortest length and moves backwards and forwards to me, I use the closest left position for home. Once again it allows me to draw the product the same way in cad on the screen. I don't have any issues when it comes to routing it out as it will work on both machines the same asmlong as the product fits in the machine footprint.

    I'll try to show you in a picture if I get time today to take one of the new gantry router I built.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bendigo Victoria
    Age
    78
    Posts
    16,561

    Default

    Thanks for that input.

    The "journey" has been rudely interrupted by #2 daughter who wanted me to make a quilting rack, so working on that atm, but should be able to get back to my own project in the next few days.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Port Huon
    Posts
    2,685

    Default

    Fred,
    Must be time for an update on your 6040, assuming that you've finished building Quiltbot

Similar Threads

  1. 6040 CNC questions
    By Big Shed in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 137
    Last Post: 25th August 2012, 09:20 AM
  2. Another 6040 question
    By maddog 62 in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th June 2012, 10:27 AM
  3. 6040 CNC (800 Watt Spindle VFD Settings Problem)
    By ishtalk in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th May 2012, 04:39 PM
  4. A journey starts with the first step
    By chrisb691 in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th December 2009, 05:14 AM
  5. The Journey Starts
    By Simomatra in forum PAINTING, PLASTERING, TILING, DECORATING, etc.
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 09:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •