Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 64
  1. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    2,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Mailloux View Post
    I don't need a CNC for that Did you see my fanned fret slotting jig?
    i dont think i saw it!!

    but doing it on a cnc would be easy peasy?

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Here you go Andrew, for reference purposes
    My Fanned Fret Slotting Jig - TalkBass Forums

    It could be easy on a CNC but long. The bits are very small so light passes at slow speeds would be needed. It'll be faster to cut the fretboards first on my mitre saw then glue it to the blank before it goes in the CNC for contouring and shaping

  4. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    2,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Mailloux View Post
    Here you go Andrew, for reference purposes
    My Fanned Fret Slotting Jig - TalkBass Forums

    It could be easy on a CNC but long. The bits are very small so light passes at slow speeds would be needed. It'll be faster to cut the fretboards first on my mitre saw then glue it to the blank before it goes in the CNC for contouring and shaping

    Ohhh!! i do remember seeing this...

    its a nice jig

    i have no room for a radial arm saw though
    and i dont feel comfortable slotting by hand with the paper templates

    ofcourse slotting with a cnc would be slow,
    but you wouuld know they are accurate

  5. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    So I just received the last bits of hardware I was missing, all 3 ballscrews, BK/BF and Z rails.

    I noticed Chai sent me 3 grease nipples which unsurprisingly fit perfectly in the ballscrew nuts. Am I supposed to be using those? Is everyone connecting grease nipples to they CNC ballscrews and routing oil feed tubes to the ballscrews?

  6. #50
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Thought Iíd post a list of the costs of my CNC, thatís one thing I always had a problem finding when researching CNCís :

    ITEM extrusions:
    2X 1400mm 12030 heavy extrusions, profile 6
    2X 667mm 6030 heavy extrusions, profile6
    40X M6 nuts 18X universal fasteners, Shipped to Brisbane
    Total: $599

    AME System Extrusions:
    1x6060 light, 850mm
    2X 6030 light, 667mm
    1X6030 light, 817mm
    6X6030 light, 300mm
    2X6030 light, 400mm
    4X3030 light, 600mm
    100X assorted nuts, Shipping to Brisbane
    Total: $385


    LinearMotionBearings ĖEbay
    2X 1400mm SBR16 rails with 4 trucks
    2X 800mm SBR16 rails with 4 trucks, Shipped to Brisbane
    Total: $245

    LinearMotionBearings Ė Ebay
    1X 1360mm, 20mm Diameter ballscrew, BK/BF supports, end machining
    1X 600mm, 16mm dia ballscrew, BK/BF supports, end machining
    1X 300mm, 16mm dia ballscrew, BK/BF supports, end machining
    2X 300mm SBR16 rails with 4 trucks, Shipped to Brisbane
    Total: $560

    Total for the table: $1789

    Wow, I didnít think I had spent that much

  7. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Far North Queensland
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Mailloux View Post

    Wow, I didnít think I had spent that much
    Know what you mean Phil, myself I never add up the total cost, for one it is a bit scary and two if SWSBO ever finds out there could be trouble

    Russell.

  8. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Got the order in from Peter, awesome!



    I hesitated for a long time at first because I didn't want to bother building a box, I don't know much about electrickery apart from wiring guitar preamps and pickups, not much chances I'll kill myself from 9V battery power...

    I was thinking of either getting the Xylotex box here, delivered for about $600 or buying Homann's G540 kit for around $800 delivered. I ended up going for the Gecko quality. I guess you can't really go wrong on that one seeing all the happpy customers here and on the zone. Peter's schematic on his site also makes the wiring part look easy. Let's hope it works out that way too

  9. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    I'm all hyper, I just picked it all up a few hours ago at the post office and here I am drilling holes and fitting pieces already!
    Its diner time, wife is caling, after diner the wiring starts


  10. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Looking good...

    Eventually I want to extend the kit, with options such as pre-cutting the panels for the G540, power connections etc.

    An instruction manual would also be nice.

    All takes time though.

    Cheers,

    Peter.

  11. #55
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Thanks Peter, a n instruction manual would definitely be a god thing. I'm a total newbie here, I knw there's giong to be a whoe lot of head scratching going on when I finish wiring the box and need to setup Mach3, the G540 and the PC together

  12. #56
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    269

    Default

    I guess it never started out as a "kit" as such, just a bunch of the most common components to put a G540 based controller together.

    It appears to be migrating to an assembly kit though.

    Cheers,

    Peter.

  13. #57
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    I can't get a green light from the G540 at all. I posted a thread on the Gecko forum but I'm not getting anywhere right now. Anybody here can give a hand?

    Newbie Setting Up His G540 - CNCzone.com-The Largest Machinist Community on the net!

  14. #58
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Hi Phil,

    The enable pin 10 on the G540 needs to be tied to the -Ve supply pin 12 on the G540.

    Also put the charge pump switch on the G540 into the off position

    Cheers,

    Peter.

  15. #59
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    49
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Awesome, the charge pump off switch was my problem, I get green light now

  16. #60
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Mailloux View Post
    Awesome, the charge pump off switch was my problem, I get green light now
    If you want to use the chargepump, then you need to check the "Chargepump in EStop" checkbox in the general config tab.


    Cheers,

    Peter.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Your Thoughts On This
    By Ed Reiss in forum WOODTURNING - GENERAL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2009, 08:57 AM
  2. your thoughts please
    By kmthor in forum DESIGN & DESIGNING / GOOGLE SKETCHUP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jul 2008, 10:18 PM
  3. Your thoughts on this
    By mullfitz in forum STRUCTURAL RENOVATION, ROOFING, DEMOLITION, etc
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2008, 11:31 AM
  4. thoughts for the day
    By Ivor in forum WOODIES JOKES
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Jun 2006, 11:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •