Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Sth australia
    Posts
    2

    Default Power switch for home made router table.

    Hey all, wondering if anyone knows where to buy a safety cut off switch for a router table here in Sth aust,thinking of making a table up and think one will be necessary.

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,482

    Default

    Try this

    http://www.woodworksupplies.com.au/p...witch-standard

    I don't have one, nor any association with pws.

    For my router table, I use a power board with individual switches. I simply switch on the router, then use the power board to start and stop.

    Trav
    Some days we are the flies; some days we are the windscreen

  4. #3
    FenceFurniture's Avatar
    FenceFurniture is offline The prize lies beneath - hidden in full view
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    1017m up in Katoomba, NSW
    Posts
    10,087

    Default

    Remote control power sockets work well - should be able to find them at Bunnings.
    Regards, FenceFurniture

    COLT DRILLS GROUP BUY
    Jan-Feb 2019 Click to send me an email

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    sydney, au
    Posts
    170

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Grebau View Post
    Hey all, wondering if anyone knows where to buy a safety cut off switch for a router table here in Sth aust,thinking of making a table up and think one will be necessary.
    TRy here:
    http://www.timbecon.com.au/products/...ies-451_0.aspx

    Or try Hare and Forbes http://www.machineryhouse.com.au/Home
    They sell spare parts for all their machines and a safety switch is bound to be available...
    James,

    Sydney, Australia

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trav View Post
    I have one of these on my table. It works very well and makes the table much safer.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Warragul, Victoria
    Age
    66
    Posts
    454

    Default

    An old thread but one I'd like to resurrect.

    Is this the only Australian No Volt Release router table switch that doesn't need an electrician? I do have remote control plugs but an NVR system seems a lot safer. Any other suggestions?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sydney Upper North Shore
    Posts
    4,179

    Default

    Timbecon sell one
    https://www.timbecon.com.au/routing/...old-separately

    i have the PWS one and it's been great.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Warragul, Victoria
    Age
    66
    Posts
    454

    Default

    Is the Timbecon switch a NVR? Electrician needed?
    The PWS switch is highly regarded on this forum but I had another thought about it, do these work with the Tritons? I know that when you change bits the plastic sliding door that covers the switch locks. If I leave the router switch on all the time can I control the power to the router exclusively from an NVR switch, which is what I want?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sydney Upper North Shore
    Posts
    4,179

    Default

    My router is a Triton so the PWS unit is fine. As you said, you have to switch the router off at the router to raise it to lock the shaft when changing bits. If I'm not changing bits, the router switch is on all the time and I turn the router on and off via the PWS switch.
    Not sure if the Timbecon one is NVR. Just looked at the price, probably not.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Warragul, Victoria
    Age
    66
    Posts
    454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lappa View Post
    you have to switch the router off at the router to raise it to lock the shaft when changing bits.
    I was hoping not to hear that. I haven't tested this and I'm away from home but if the router switch is left on and obviously not plugged in, what happens when you raise it to lock the shaft to change bits? Will the spindle lock? Will the sliding door still lock/break? Using the Kreg plate the router is aligned so that the pull ring and twist handle and the hole for raising bits is at the front for easier access but that makes the power switch at the back at little less accessible. Consequently I was hoping to have this switch permanently on, as a set and forget situation, controlling power by only a PWS type unit. Is this not possible on a Triton?

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    moonbi nsw Aus
    Age
    66
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    With Triton Routers to change bits the plastic slide window HAS to be CLOSED so that the spindle lock can be accessed. There is no way to avoid this method, apart from removing the slide window altogether.
    Just do it!

    Kind regards Rod

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vevey, Switzerland
    Posts
    407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barri View Post
    I was hoping not to hear that. I haven't tested this and I'm away from home but if the router switch is left on and obviously not plugged in, what happens when you raise it to lock the shaft to change bits? Will the spindle lock? Will the sliding door still lock/break? Using the Kreg plate the router is aligned so that the pull ring and twist handle and the hole for raising bits is at the front for easier access but that makes the power switch at the back at little less accessible. Consequently I was hoping to have this switch permanently on, as a set and forget situation, controlling power by only a PWS type unit. Is this not possible on a Triton?
    It's possible to use an extension collet:Xtreme Xtension Router Extension Collett (Includes T Handled Ball Wrench) I had one and it worked quite well, but I bought it when the dollar was a lot stronger!
    Cheers, Glen

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Caboolture QLD AU
    Posts
    781

    Default

    But don't you still have a separate spindle lock plunger?

    The plastic switch lockout only stops the last 1" or so of travel which also operates the spindle lock for you. So if you keep the router switch permanently on, you can't raise it fully (harder to get the spanner on) and you now have to hold the lock plunger in yourself. Isn't the triton switch cover just a simple mechanical auto shaft lockout device?

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Warragul, Victoria
    Age
    66
    Posts
    454

    Default

    I guess it is a good safety feature and I shouldn't ignore that. Also, the amount of bit changing for me would be minimal. For example, if I was making an embroidery box the only bit I'd use would be a round over. The odd time I might change from a straight bit to a profile bit, so for the sake of safety and minor inconvenience I'll put up with it. I'll buy one of the PWS NVR switches, another safety feature, and I might even plug it into a remote control switch, that way I can turn it off with whatever is closest at the time. I was looking forward to controlling power from outside my cabinet.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Caboolture QLD AU
    Posts
    781

    Default

    Yes, that is how I've made mine, an NVR switch on the front, but also added auto cutout and no start if dust extraction is not running (vacuum sensor)

    I've utilised a couple of rare earth magnets to hold the front under table dust extraction and router housing door closed, having the triton slide safety switch at the back turned out to be as simple as ABC to use and actually is the ideal position for it, don't have to bend over, no contortions needed to reach and control it and of course the extra safety - However one thing to keep in mind with an NVR switch in this case: If you have the router mounted power switch off and you press the NVR switch with AC applied, the NVR magnetic switch will lock on, but of course the router won't start, now there is always the possibility that you may turn the router switch on thinking that it won't run until you press the NVR switch - which in this case is not true.

    Now of course you may never do that and I only mention it because even if it's a 1 in 1000 possibility, it's still worth being aware of. There is a way to overcome that but it's likely not worth worrying about.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Router Table Switch - Power Strip?
    By michhes in forum GENERAL & SMALL MACHINERY
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2013, 11:05 AM
  2. A home-made power scraper
    By jhovel in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2011, 12:20 AM
  3. Home made loose tenon & mortise jig for router table
    By *Kev in forum HOMEMADE TOOLS AND JIGS ETC.
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15th May 2009, 05:23 PM
  4. home made router table question
    By simmo72 in forum ROUTING FORUM
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Feb 2007, 10:09 PM
  5. Another Home Made Router Table
    By Krazee in forum ROUTING FORUM
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2007, 01:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •