Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    11

    Default Tassie 6x5 shed build

    Hi all,

    This is to document my shed build here in Tassie. I'll describe the build as it goes and put forward my ideas for fit out. Any comments most welcome. Yes, it's only 6m x5m!! I already have a 6x8 double garage with a small storage are attached to the house. The purpose of the shed build is to make space in said garage which just isn't quite big enough for multiple cars and the trappings of a hoarder. So basically it will be a small workshop, man cave and storage area.

    The shed has been ordered from a local shed builder with a great reputation. I'm getting air cell insulation on roof and walls, vermaseal under the shed edges, a large roller door, personal access door and a window, 2.7m high walls. It will be all in corrugated and colour is woodland grey. Including slab and installation the cost is 17K. This excludes the cut and fill, retaining wall, trench work, power and water so it ain't gonna be a cheap project. The shed is a about 25m from the house and required a cut and fill on my block with a significant retaining wall...pics below. The cut and fill gave me about 100 m2 but I plan to use the area to also build a reasonable veg garden, a large rainwater tank, storage for a trailer etc.

    I'm also running mains water, power, and rainwater from the house in a trench. The trench has been dug at the required 600mm for power. Once the power is laid it will get backfilled to 300mm with 7mm gravel and warning tape on top. Then the plumber will lay the mains water and rainwater lines.

    I'm now planning for fit out. I plan to clad the interior in plywood (probably 7mm) using a brick bond with black shadow lines. e.g. something like this Shed provides affordable extension I'll seal the floor (probably just a concrete sealer) and add shelving...thinking unirack Warehouse Pallet Racking, Shelving & Materials Handling | Unirack. I'll probably go for two 15 amp power points and a few other standard doubles. For lighting I think 4 sets of LED battens should be ok, maybe with something over the work bench which will be under the window. So that's it. Any questions or suggestions welcome. I'll update as things progress over coming weeks.

    IMG_0271.jpgIMG_0276.jpgIMG_0277.jpgIMG_0280.jpg

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    blue mountains
    Posts
    4,087

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.
    You have started off well as we like to watch shed builds. Should keep you busy for a while.
    Regards
    John

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Rockhampton QLD
    Age
    64
    Posts
    1,664

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Towradgi
    Posts
    4,543

    Default

    A shed build, that's all I need!

    Comfy chair and adult beverage at the ready!
    Pat
    Work is a necessary evil to be avoided. Mark Twain

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks. I've been a member for a while but a lurker till now. While I'm not a hardcore woodworker, though i did enjoy studying it right through my high school years, I'm a keen home handyman, gardener and home brewer. The shed will be used for these purposes amongst others. I promise to post pics (to prove it happened) and I'll try to make sure you get the money shot and not leave you all high and dry as we approach the build's end . Hopefully there'll be some electrical conduit laying to report on soon.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    bilpin
    Posts
    2,785

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
    Thanks. I've been a member for a while but a lurker till now. While I'm not a hardcore woodworker, though i did enjoy studying it right through my high school years, I'm a keen home handyman, gardener and home brewer. The shed will be used for these purposes amongst others. I promise to post pics (to prove it happened) and I'll try to make sure you get the money shot and not leave you all high and dry as we approach the build's end . Hopefully there'll be some electrical conduit laying to report on soon.
    Ah, you bring back memories.
    During my time in Tassie I shared a shed with a mate who was a very keen moonshiner. His still was located in a far corner and the rest of the shed was used for wood and metal work. In this situation fire is not your friend. In fact not even a spark. Fast forward to mower maintenance day and a quick season on the grinder for the blades. KABOOM!! Now where was I?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    11

    Default

    OK...next exciting instalment. Well the conduit was laid today while i was at work. It's only been run in the trench as yet and not connected. I think the cable looks thick enough. Sparky said he'll so a couple of 15 amp sockets and a number of 10 amp. It's going though a sub board in the shed. The sparky said he'd cut a hole in the shed but i rang the shed bloke and he said he will get the concreter to install a conduit in the slab. I guess that will be neater.

    I'm now contemplating running ethernet to the shed. Is it worth it?? Or should i just try to get a wireless signal from the house? Or just cast from my mobile phone? Shed is about 30m away. More research to do.

    IMG_0282.jpgIMG_0283.jpgIMG_0284.jpgIMG_0287.jpg

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Sounds dangerous. I'll stick to beer for now. I do all grain brewing. It's a great hobby. Can make great quality craft brew for less than a dollar a pint.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Conder, ACT
    Age
    73
    Posts
    5,937

    Default

    I'm now contemplating running ethernet to the shed.
    If you stick a conduit in the ground now, with the trench open, you can use it for anything later.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Age
    52
    Posts
    878

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
    I'm now contemplating running ethernet to the shed. Is it worth it?? Or should i just try to get a wireless signal from the house? Or just cast from my mobile phone? Shed is about 30m away. More research to do.
    Whilst you can easily bridge that distance with a couple of Ubiquiti Nanobeams, if the trench is opne, I would do two things.

    (1) Run 4 Ethernet cables from the house to the shed, and leave considerable spare cable at the shed end, run these in with your electrics. You can always then stick a WAP on one of them.

    (2) Run a spare conduit and draw wire in it for the future. The conduit is cheap, re-digging a trench is not.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Man View Post
    Whilst you can easily bridge that distance with a couple of Ubiquiti Nanobeams, if the trench is opne, I would do two things.

    (1) Run 4 Ethernet cables from the house to the shed, and leave considerable spare cable at the shed end, run these in with your electrics. You can always then stick a WAP on one of them.

    (2) Run a spare conduit and draw wire in it for the future. The conduit is cheap, re-digging a trench is not.
    Thanks for the info. I think running a spare conduit is a good idea. Why do you suggest 4 ethernet cables? I was thinking of just running a terminated cat 6 cable such as this 100ft Cat6 Outdoor Waterproof Ethernet Cable Direct Burial 100 ft (600 MHZ) Shielded: Amazon.com.au: Industrial & Scientific

    Cheers.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Campbelltown NSW
    Age
    73
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
    Thanks for the info. I think running a spare conduit is a good idea. Why do you suggest 4 ethernet cables? I was thinking of just running a terminated cat 6 cable such as this 100ft Cat6 Outdoor Waterproof Ethernet Cable Direct Burial 100 ft (600 MHZ) Shielded: Amazon.com.au: Industrial & Scientific

    Cheers.
    Future proofing, apart from extending the network you may want to install POE cameras down the track.

    However before you go throwing a DYI network cable in the ground have a read of this Wiki and talk to your sparky about it, he may be licensed to carry out the work.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Age
    52
    Posts
    878

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
    Thanks for the info. I think running a spare conduit is a good idea. Why do you suggest 4 ethernet cables? I was thinking of just running a terminated cat 6 cable such as this 100ft Cat6 Outdoor Waterproof Ethernet Cable Direct Burial 100 ft (600 MHZ) Shielded: Amazon.com.au: Industrial & Scientific

    Cheers.
    I work in the IT game - so I tend to engineer stuff at a higher level because I like options and redundancy. With 4 CAT6 cables, you can bridge them for a 4Gb/sec link later, in case you go bonkers like me. You also buy redundancy in case of a cable failure (it does happen!). You also get future expandability, and it's not like the cost of the additional 3 lengths of cable are going to be a major dent in your pocket (especially considering the overall scope of the project).

    Disclaimer: In my own shed refit (that's happening slowly) we also had the chance of an open trench - whilst I did put 4 Ethernet in there, I failed to put a spare conduit and draw wire - and I wish I had done that now.

    I'd steer clear of a pre-made cable though. Just get a roll of Cat 6 cable (e.g. Ethernet Cabling | Black Cat 6 LAN or Ethernet Cable with Solid Conductors Reel) and either hook it up yourself to some keystones, or RJ45's as needed. If you haven't got the tools yourself, most sparkies will, and wouldn't take them more than a half hour to terminate and test them all.

    Also, side-note, I wouldn't worry too much about outdoor cable, unless you're exposing it or some of it to UV and true outdoor conditions - in a conduit, underground, a normal cable will be fine, provided you seal your conduit joins properly and so forth.

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Brisbane
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,071

    Default

    I just read up about this and I can't believe it but here in nanny state Australia it is illegal to wire up your own private data LAN in "permanent" cables. I think pre-made cable is exempt. But laying CAT 6 cable in conduit would presumably be considered permanent wiring.
    Personally I think this is ridiculous.
    Hypothetically one day someone, somewhere could connect such wiring directly to the public network. Perhaps. Maybe. Although that would not kill anyone. Anyway there would always be a router or modem separating them. (Apparently the ACMA does not consider this as isolated, even though it is electrically). I suppose someone who was absolutely clueless might connect such cabling directly to the PSTN since most still have copper to the house. Although it still would not have the potential to kill anyone unless they were so utterly stupid as to connect 235V to the data cable. But how likely is it that someone who was that clueless, would attempt to wire up or to alter their own permanent LAN? And why not simply state it is illegal to hard wire directly to the PSTN copper cables?
    Frigging ridiculous nanny state law, designed to make work for pen pushes in Canberra, in my opinion.

    Anyway what it means is that to be legal you would need someone with the correct registration license to check your work and terminate and test the cables. Most electricians don't have this specific license. (Which is also stupid - although for different reasons).

    Next year tying your own shoelaces will require a license.
    Yet you can have 8 babies no matter how unsuitable you are for that task.
    My YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/2_KPRN6I9SE

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I agree. Run 2x 50mm conduits. One for data and the other with a draw wire for future use. Cap the future use conduit to prevent vermin using it as a home.

    The depth of the power cable looks quite shallow. Typically you would need to be 600mm deep. In any event, if the sparky is happy to sign off on the COC it's his licence on the line.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Shed build
    By node105 in forum THE SHED
    Replies: 184
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2018, 06:32 PM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 26th Apr 2017, 03:36 PM
  3. Tassie Build Steel & Aluminium
    By Lucky Phil in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 9th Nov 2015, 07:01 PM
  4. Tassie Build
    By Kym A in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 5th Nov 2012, 05:43 PM
  5. 140 year old Tassie ketch - Tassie - Franklin - wreck
    By Clinton1 in forum CLASSIC BOAT RESCUE & ADOPTION
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2010, 11:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •