Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,952

    Default Wadkin RS lathe. new motor plus VFD help needed

    I am getting a RS8 up and running and need to buy a new electric motor for it.
    l
    I have many years ago rebuilt one using a C & H variable speed unit as the motor was missing. See blue lathe below. Cobbled together bearing a drive Cush set up.
    This lathe is now at UTS hence the motor guard.

    Another RS8 I have has the Two speed motor 950 and 1440rpm that plus the 4 step flat belt gives 8 speeds of 200, 320, 500, 750, 960, 1400, 1850 and 2800.

    This current resto was originally 240, 600, 1250 and 2800. Looking at the appropriate cattledog of the period this had a 950rpm motor fitted.
    When I got it there was a single phase 2800 motor fitted with a drum adapter wot fitted into the largest pulley. Seemed run true enough but was way too fast.

    So I am thinking of buying a 960rpm motor and VFD from Conon in Melbourne.
    If it can be set up for single phase I can take it with me when we down size.

    Speed wise Im looking for slower rather than faster.
    I have done 1200 dia on a 2 speed motor machine which would have been 200 and it was just ok. I used a mates lathe and whilst I did the turning he was around to keep an eye on things.
    I later rigged up another lathe with a geared headstock which I turned 2400 dia on albeit at 80rpm.
    H.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jimcracks for the rich and/or wealthy. (aka GKB '88)

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    moonbi nsw Aus
    Age
    68
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Henry....the suction line attached to the blue lathe, how effective was it?
    Just do it!

    Kind regards Rod

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    350

    Default

    I have a VFD on my lathe, the motor is 2 HP and Low = 50-1200 RPM & High = 120-3200 RPM (infinitely variable) and it runs off a standard plug.
    Lathe Speed Control.jpg

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Just noticed the Chinese router table behind the blue RS8, I have that machine in the exact same colour

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chambezio View Post
    Henry....the suction line attached to the blue lathe, how effective was it?
    Rod Id say it was better than nothing but not much.

    Im a bit surprised they dont have a better set up but that lathe would only be used by staff I guess. They have a few smaller woodlathes for student use.

    This is my set up at home and it is great for dust but only catches the chips wot jump into it.
    The edge treatment helps with the dust I possibly capture 90% of any dust when sanding.
    H.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jimcracks for the rich and/or wealthy. (aka GKB '88)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Camelot View Post
    Just noticed the Chinese router table behind the blue RS8, I have that machine in the exact same colour

    Cam, Not my machine this is UTS industrial design workshop.
    Sold the RS10 to them about 20 years ago when I got a bigger lathe.
    Dropped in to reacquaint myself with the motor set up.
    Id forgotten the nice speed change lever, I wonder if theyd be in a swap.
    H.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jimcracks for the rich and/or wealthy. (aka GKB '88)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    27,325

    Default

    RE: VFD
    Maybe worth having read of this VFDs for Newbies

    If you're currently getting 200 rpm @ 50Hz with the 960 rpm motor and slowest speed belt position, then to get 100 rpm it will need to be running at 25Hz.
    If the VFD is run in "standard V/F mode" the motor can only deliver about half the power at 25Hz.

    To get around this, make sure you get Vector drive VFD and program it to run in Vector drive mode which will give you about 2/3-3/4 power at 25Hz.
    OR
    Just buy a more powerful motor, usually one goes for double the standard power rating and then you will have full original power at 25Hz

    A more powerful motor running in Vector drive mode will give full original power even below 20Hz (80rpm)
    Running the motor for some time under load slower than this may compromise motor cooling so you may need additional cooling.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    In between houses
    Posts
    1,784

    Default

    Ill take it.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    Thanks Bob, I was hoping youd chime in and point me in the right direction.
    Probably look at a 3hp motor rather than 2.

    Ill reread VFDs for newbies I did read a while back out of interest but now I have a definite need for the info it will make more sense.

    H.
    Jimcracks for the rich and/or wealthy. (aka GKB '88)

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    454

    Default

    I toyed around with a lower RPM single phase motor for my bandsaws to convert them from 3-phase. At the time the only motors I could find in 3HP 6-pole (1000rpm) was around $650 from memory which you then start to think is about the same price of a 3-phase motor coupled with a VFD. I found shaft sizes were typically metric too but you can get around it with sleeves or increasing the bore size on the pulley.

Similar Threads

  1. An Intriguing Re-Motor - Wadkin RA Buzzer.
    By Vann in forum ANTIQUE AND VINTAGE MACHINERY
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2020, 08:36 AM
  2. VicMarc VL850 Lathe does it have standard motor? OR Induction Motor?
    By PenTurner in forum WOODTURNING - PEN TURNING
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th December 2016, 05:44 PM
  3. Wadkin PK - Can I fit a Single Phase Motor to a wadkin pk table saw?
    By Pommy Ker in forum ANTIQUE AND VINTAGE MACHINERY
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30th December 2015, 06:31 PM
  4. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 14th August 2015, 02:38 PM
  5. Wadkin Lathe, Renniks Router, Spindle Moulder table saw help needed
    By Wazau in forum ANTIQUE AND COLLECTABLE TOOLS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th September 2014, 10:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •