Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    59
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrodoOne View Post
    While i wrote "In Australia, light "switches" are installed in Wall-Plates"
    your reply was "


    I still believe that all light switches in Australia have been installed in Wall-Plates, since before WWII.
    Please provide photographs of anything which you have which may contradict that statement.

    Before the modern style switches and gpoís the fittings were mounted on base plates, no wall plate was used.
    eg, this style fitting.
    Clipsal Heritage Range

    Also a lot of the early flat plate outlets were installed on the wide skirting boards of the era.
    With lathe and plaster used up until the 1950ís wall plates generally did not fit with some of the construction methods.

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Age
    2010
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc View Post
    Ha ha ... you can change forum but not stripes.
    Heís definitely not off to a good start.

  4. #18
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrodoOne View Post
    Please provide photographs of anything which you have which may contradict that statement.
    Okay, if I remember. I'm heading off to the seaside this weekend, probably. You may have to wait a few days until I get there and then get around to trying to fix it (with my block of wood or epoxy). It would be such a joke on me if I spotted some kind of steel mounting box embedded amongst the bricks. Ha ha.

  5. #19
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc View Post
    Ha ha ... you can change forum but not stripes.
    Are you talkin ame?

  6. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    908

    Default

    No Mr Flynn, obviously not you but Frodo who has a habit of pugnacious verbosity.
    ďWe often contradict an opinion for no other reason
    than that we do not like the tone in which it is expressed.Ē

    Friedrich Nietzsche


  7. #21
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Okay.

    Since being rescued by Neil (I had been a Renovate Forum member for a few years on the other site) and seeing your name here, it occurred to me that you are the same person who held the name "Marc" in the old forum. A different avatar was used. It looked like he was driving a dozer or similar.

    With forums, usernames have to be unique. I managed to keep mine; that was pretty much guaranteed, but there are a lot of Marcs out there in the world. It's just that it would surprise me if he didn't come across.

  8. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Same same. Actually started here 20 years or so ago.
    In the other photo I am driving my old ski boat.
    And that is my name.
    May be should change it ... how about Tacitus?
    ďWe often contradict an opinion for no other reason
    than that we do not like the tone in which it is expressed.Ē

    Friedrich Nietzsche


  9. #23
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Thanks for that. I'd suggest you keep it true. Though, when I first started to use the web people said never use your real name. I didn't have a clue as to what to use. But I lived in Flynn. So, I chose that. Then I thought people might think that's my name. So added Errol in front of it to stop people from thinking it was real.

    Regards, Ron

  10. #24
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrodoOne View Post
    I still believe that all light switches in Australia have been installed in Wall-Plates, since before WWII.
    Please provide photographs of anything which you have which may contradict that statement.
    Thereís no wall plate or box here. Two rawlplugs were used. One had been pushed through a hole in the asbestos. You can see the hole to the right. Stupid idea, because it became loose, and thatís what I wanted fixed. You can see the remaining (red) plug to the left. Even that one hasnít been properly fitted. But itís in well enough to serve its purpose with a decent-length screw.

    This is the fourth time Iíve had to pull an electrical fitting from the wall (two other switches, and a power outlet). None of them had mounting boxes or plates. Thankfully, the rawlplugs were secure in all of them.

    IMG_19710420_124520.jpg


    This particular problem was a real pain to fix. There was so little space in there to get some wood behind it, but it worked out brilliantly in the end. A nice firm switch.

    The local hardware didnít have any epoxy products. I wanted to try the epoxy putty, but they didnít stock it. Disappointing. Various types of Araldite and super glue, mostly. Then I spotted Gorilla Glue on the shelf. Iíve never used that before and was curious about it. Unusual stuff to use: wet one surface with water, apply the glue to the other surface, and clamp. I tested it, before using it on the job, by glueing a piece of wood to a cement chunk I found lying around, that had a flat surface. The stuff expands as it sets. It seemed to make a good bond too.

    The solution that Jack suggested was what I did. It worked well. I couldn't use a piece of wood as large as suggested, but I fiddled until I got a piece pushed in as large as would fit. You can see a bit of the wood in the photo. Sorry about the camera shake.

    IMG_19710422_093507.jpg

    I opted to drill a hole in the wood prior to glueing it in place. I doubted my chances of getting the hole in exactly the best spot and I didnít want to risk the switch being mounted at an angle because I got the screw in the wrong place. Untidy. And nor did I want to drill through the plastic housing after the glue had dried. Thereís not much of a shoulder on the plastic for the screw to hang on to, and I could imagine my drill bit chewing it off.

    I was going to dispose of the old hardware. Rather than just binning it, I put it to use. I cut it into the shape you see in the photo which allowed it to act as a template for the correct screw locations. By screwing the template to the wall, engaging with the existing rawlplug on one end and me wiggling the piece of wood with its still wet glue at the other until I found the pre-drilled hole, I could then tighten both screws ensuring the template was level, and by tightening the screw into the wood it served as a clamp while the glue dried. Youíll spot a screw in the wood at the edge which I used as a handle.

    So, the next day I removed all the screws and tossed the template, the piece of wood remained in place. Thankfully. You can see how the glue has bubbled out a little. On went the new switch. With the new switch and facia on, it looks good.

  11. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    59
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Hope you shortened the cable and re-terminated or as a minimum insulated the bare conductor.
    Insulation.jpg

  12. #26
    Join Date
    May 2023
    Location
    Nimmitabel, Canberra
    Age
    72
    Posts
    174

    Default

    You've got good eyes.

    I only noticed it as I was posting; when I looked at the photo. Didn't spot it when I pulled the thing out. It's been like that for 30 years or so. It can wait a bit longer. I think I might have some spaghetti somewhere.

  13. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Good job, given the limitations placed on you.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Help - fixing loose mortar on bottom course of wall
    By commonman00 in forum BRICKWORK, CONCRETING, PAVING, RENDERING, etc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th December 2007, 12:17 AM
  2. Help - fixing loose mortar on bottom course of wall
    By commonman00 in forum CONCRETING
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th December 2007, 12:17 AM
  3. PIR Wall Switch
    By OBBob in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th January 2007, 12:13 PM
  4. Help to replace stove wall switch
    By aussie1 in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th October 2006, 02:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •