Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Alexandra Vic
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,529

    Default Confirm that you want to leave this page message box when submitting a post

    Hi, I am a fairly slow typer (not typist) and sometimes it takes a while to formulate type and check a post before submitting it. Autosave is my friend here.

    But occasionally when using the default quick editor, when I finally do get to submit my post, I get a dialogue box asking me if I want to leave the page with Leave or Cancel options and a square I can tick to prevent the procedure from creating more dialogue boxes.

    If I select Leave, the material I have ready to contribute is permanently lost and the screen rolls back to the thread I was viewing when I decided to contribute.

    If I select Cancel, the quick reply box remains exactly the same except that the Leave dialogue box disappears and then returns, unless I have ticked the don't create more dialogue boxes square, in which case the dialogue box goes away and I have the reply box left on screen, i.e. in either case the contribution is not accepted and added to the thread, and the little "I'm working on it" 'spinner' at the browser tab spins indefinitely.

    I can however select Go Advanced and after about 30 seconds or so the advanced editor will come up with a formatted preview and the contribution I am trying to make ready for editing, and I can save from this window and find my contribution attached to the thread within a second or so.

    This whole issue is not regular, and happens to maybe 1% of my attempts to post, but I wonder why it happens and whether there is anything I can do to avoid it? Thanks for any input.
    I used to be an engineer, I'm not an engineer any more, but on the really good days I can remember when I was.

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Age
    2010
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Little River
    Age
    73
    Posts
    838

    Default

    I have had that happen to me and I have no idea what is going on except that the contents of my post evaporate.

    To prevent a total loss I copy my post to the clipboard before doing anything and then if it evaporates I can paste it to a new reply.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,880

    Default

    I think is a windows thing because I encountered it on another site as well.
    CHRIS

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    533

    Default

    I don't think it's a windows thing, i think it might be a browser thing though. Certainly this forum is the only vBulletin site I frequent so it's the only one I actually see it on.... I see it very infrequently, and since the most recent upgrade I typically see doubled up messages within a single post (like it's posted twice and thinks that the second has been an edit, and shows an "old text / new text" layout)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    23,189

    Default

    I've encountered this on both my older and new Mac

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Helensburgh
    Posts
    5,880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by poundy View Post
    I don't think it's a windows thing, i think it might be a browser thing though. Certainly this forum is the only vBulletin site I frequent so it's the only one I actually see it on.... I see it very infrequently, and since the most recent upgrade I typically see doubled up messages within a single post (like it's posted twice and thinks that the second has been an edit, and shows an "old text / new text" layout)
    I use Opera.
    CHRIS

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Little River
    Age
    73
    Posts
    838

    Default

    I use Firefox.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Alexandra Vic
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,529

    Default

    Generally Opera, rare occasions Firefox but I keep that set permanantly for private windows for online banking and use Opera for general stuff.
    I used to be an engineer, I'm not an engineer any more, but on the really good days I can remember when I was.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,872

    Default

    I get it on Chrome as well. I click 'leave' and my stuff gets posted as normal.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    I have been getting this as well, and often it creates a double-post when I click leave. Seems to occur predominantly when using my phone.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Caboolture QLD AU
    Posts
    755

    Default

    When writing a post on ANY forum now, I have and empty notepad file on the desktop, I open it before I post or preview and always right click, select all, copy and past into the empty text file. A few clicks to save a lot of annoyance and time if the site locks / spits the dummy / looses everything I just typed or responds with "Computer said NO"

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    geelong
    Posts
    142

    Default

    I must admit - have posted things to the wrong place on Facebook recently by accident - have clicked and then gone to the next and posted as to the previous -caused some confusion - both from them and later me -till I worked it out.Look at screen when typing and know where its going.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Belmont (Geelong) Victoria
    Age
    70
    Posts
    11,169

    Default

    Usually happens when you inadvertently cancel or use back button or have spent too long on a post and the program thinks you've abandoned it.

    I have had it happen once on here and clicked on the leave button. The post I made appeared in the thread.

    I love auto save because I often have to attend to other matters before I finish a post or thread and often come back to a shut down computer. The auto save will bring up the info I was working on when I go back to the same post or thread.

    If I know I'm going to leave for a time before finishing I hit CTRL A (select all) then CTRL C (copy) if the auto save hasn't shown before I leave. Then as MandJ said in his post above, I paste it to Notepad for either saving or to retrieve later if the forum shuts down on me and the auto save isn't up to date.

    are in mind that if you take too long sometimes a post won't show as the program thinks it's been abandoned. In this case Auto Save should fix the problem for you if you are shut out or lose the post.

    If you do copy and paste to somewhere else as a backup, please do it to note pad... Not to Word or or any other desktop publishing program as these can incorporate html code into what you have typed and that's not a good thing to have on here. Note pad will keep it as plain text.
    KEEP A LID ON THE GARBAGE... Report spam & inappropriate Posts, PMs and Blogs.
    Use the Report icon at the bottom of all Posts, PM's and Blog entries.



  15. #14
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Belmont (Geelong) Victoria
    Age
    70
    Posts
    11,169

    Default

    Was asked with the above to Leave or Cancel probably because I had been at it for a long time.

    Message said something like: If you leave this site, changes you've made may not be included.

    All went through as expected.


Similar Threads

  1. Blackwood - Please confirm
    By Woody60 in forum TIMBER
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2010, 10:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •