Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Redlands area, Brisbane
    Posts
    1,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jack620 View Post
    Perhaps some of their PA behaviour has rubbed off on you.
    I have certainly learned a lot from them...

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markharrison View Post
    No it doesn't.
    Best take the square and rail back to the dealer and have whichever one is at fault (or both if necessary) swapped for a combo that is square. No point going any further until that is sorted.

  4. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    5,019

    Default

    That's pretty crazy that the FS90 could be out of square.

    Is there some mistake, such as packing tape left on one edge perhaps? The rails bar having a kink?

    I had an eye on one of these. Its no good that's it's manufactured incorrectly (i'd've said inconceivable)

  5. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    968

    Default

    I don't think TSO make the squares for Fe$tool. I believe Fe$tool licence the design from them, and manufacture it themselves - when I spoke to the rep about it he suggested that Festool could offer it so much cheaper was because of their access to much greater manufacturing capacity. Maybe they also buy some of the bits - like the clamp.

    That's just speculation and joining the dots on my part. I'm not certain.

    I too have the TSO versions of the GRS-16 and GRS-16 PE, and both cut square. Must be worth the extra $10 or $20 per tenth of a millimetre

  6. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bernmc View Post
    I don't think TSO make the squares for Fe$tool. I believe Fe$tool licence the design from them, and manufacture it themselves - when I spoke to the rep about it he suggested that Festool could offer it so much cheaper was because of their access to much greater manufacturing capacity. Maybe they also buy some of the bits - like the clamp. That's just speculation and joining the dots on my part. I'm not certain.
    Also sounds likely. Either way TSO or Festool making them, they seem identical to the TSO square.

  7. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Thought I'd mention.... My own Festool FS-90 rail square with my rails attached are square and giving square cuts. Also, I've not had any customers report issues with theirs to date.

  8. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    637

    Default

    So I thought i'd o some test cuts with mine.
    First I put a square against the reference clamp edge and it is definitely out by a small amount.

    So I cut a fresh edge then referenced off that and used FS-90 to cut 'square edge'.
    IMG_2775.jpgIMG_2776.jpgover 600mm out by 1mm.

    Thought I would try the 5 cut method. Offcut piece was out .15mm over 1 metre. Thats not too bad.
    Diagonals, bang on perfect with my blurry eyes.
    3,4,5 measuring method, dead nuts perfect.
    So now I'm really confused, surely every square I own cant be out the exact same amount? My blade is on the very dull side so I will have to get it sharpened and try again.

    I put a straight edge across the reference surface of the FS-90 that it clamps too. There is a 0.1mm dip that starts about 15mm in from each edge. I'm guessing so that the clamp pulls firm?

  9. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Good investigation Shane.

    One thing worth mentioning is ensuring the little green cams under the saw are appropriately set (taking out any slop as they glide up the rail ribs) and therefore saw sideways saw movement as you progress up the rail.

  10. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Redlands area, Brisbane
    Posts
    1,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nt900 View Post
    Best take the square and rail back to the dealer and have whichever one is at fault (or both if necessary) swapped for a combo that is square. No point going any further until that is sorted.
    I went back on Friday. Carbatec opened up another one while I was there and it has the exact same defect in the same degree of error.

    In the meantime I've just wrestled the panels across the panel saw. As I have now just obviated my original need for the kit, I'm just going to return the whole kit and get my money back.

  11. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markharrison View Post
    I went back on Friday. Carbatec opened up another one while I was there and it has the exact same defect in the same degree of error. In the meantime I've just wrestled the panels across the panel saw. As I have now just obviated my original need for the kit, I'm just going to return the whole kit and get my money back.
    Hi Mark. It's s shame you could not get it sorted and functional for your needs. I would also have liked to seen the issue resolved and the root cause identified (which was the contributing item, the square, rail, or something else) so we can use that info to resolve the issue for anyone else if it comes up again.

  12. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    637

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nt900 View Post
    Hi Mark. It's s shame you could not get it sorted and functional for your needs. I would also have liked to seen the issue resolved and the root cause identified (which was the contributing item, the square, rail, or something else) so we can use that info to resolve the issue for anyone else if it comes up again.
    I will definitely be investigating this further. It seems I bought mine direct from Festool last year in July. I will contact them to see what they have to say, but will also try a fresh sharpened blade and a different track. Ive seen a few videos of it in use with excellent results so want to find out if there is a bad batch or user error.

  13. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shanesmith80 View Post
    I will definitely be investigating this further. It seems I bought mine direct from Festool last year in July. I will contact them to see what they have to say, but will also try a fresh sharpened blade and a different track. Ive seen a few videos of it in use with excellent results so want to find out if there is a bad batch or user error.
    Please provide info as it develops. Thanks.

  14. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Redlands area, Brisbane
    Posts
    1,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shanesmith80 View Post
    I will definitely be investigating this further. It seems I bought mine direct from Festool last year in July. I will contact them to see what they have to say, but will also try a fresh sharpened blade and a different track. Ive seen a few videos of it in use with excellent results so want to find out if there is a bad batch or user error.
    Everything in this kit is brand new and previously unused.

    I am 100 % certain that the problem is the FS90. If your FS90 is square to the track, you almost certainly do not have a problem.

  15. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Perth WA (Carine)
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    I was lucky enough to purchase the FS90 from the first batch that arrived in June 2020. Square cuts is all I can say.

  16. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    2,107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markharrison View Post
    The problem is that once you get the blade set at the correct angle, you can't (or I have not found a way) to set the index slot washer thingy against the stop because there are parts of the mechanism in the way preventing you from adequately snugging down the fasteners to prevent movement. So you end up just jiggling it around and testing until you eventually get it right by accident. That last part is a guess. I've not got it right so far so I've just bypassed the whole angle setting mechanism and checked against the actual cut until I got it right.
    I've read this paragraph about ten times now and I'm still none the wiser what you're getting at. I used my TS55 today to make some bevel cuts at 15 degrees and 3 degrees. It worked flawlessly. And the angle setting mechanism is more than robust enough for the work I do.

    Do you have the TS55 supplementary manual? Perhaps that addresses your problem?
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. square cuts with the blade at 90, out of square at 45???
    By zoovegroover in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th July 2017, 07:54 PM
  2. Sliding miter saw: how square is square?
    By IdahoEv in forum GENERAL & SMALL MACHINERY
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st April 2016, 05:14 AM
  3. Installing vice: how square is square?
    By tomnewby in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th June 2009, 08:03 AM
  4. square to table or square to fence
    By yjnb in forum BANDSAWS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th July 2008, 07:50 AM
  5. how many square meters to a house square?
    By weekendwarrior in forum STRUCTURAL RENOVATION, ROOFING, DEMOLITION, etc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th November 2005, 06:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •