Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    521

    Default What's this fried electrical component in my surface grinder?

    Recently I received a new surface grinder to add to the collection. One of the freight handlers unfortunately ripped the wires from a plug (down feed motor encoder). I rewired the plug which was an absolute ba$tard. The wires were about 3 human hairs of thickness, and the earth wire was a spindly mess about the thickness of small gauge rope! Getting the plug wired took me far too long. In the process (testing) the spindly earth wire shorted out the circuit and one of the components burnt out in the circuit board. I did a bush-mans fix resoldering back in place and that worked. I would however like to replace the component.

    Can someone please advise what this component is (white cylinders marked "10u 0.92A")?

    IMG_0572.jpg IMG_0578.jpg IMG_0580.jpg

    The J&S (made in 1996) circuit boards are brilliant. Every IC is press mount. If one dies, simply pull it out and replace. No soldering at all. And thankfully no surface mount gear. A great setup that is designed to be "fix it yourself" friendly. Rare in a world where manufacturers like to epoxy components to force entire board repurchases..

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Armidale NSW
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,938

    Default

    "L" normally denotes an inductor. So I would guess they are 10uH inductors ... I'll see what else I can find.
    Cheers.

    Vernon.
    __________________________________________________
    Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like crazy.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Armidale NSW
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,938

    Default

    Here is one I found (different package and higher rating) - http://au.element14.com/bourns-jw-mi...mhz/dp/1103703

    Here is another, but it has a slightly lower rating - http://www.jaycar.com.au/Passive-Com...Choke/p/LF1522
    Cheers.

    Vernon.
    __________________________________________________
    Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like crazy.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    It's an inductor. While caps have a voltage rating, inductors have a current rating. The current rating can be seen printed on the side. L6 for example looks to be 10 micro Henry and rated to 0.92A. The one posted by Vernon from Jaycar does not have as high a current rating at only 0.5A, the second one (from element14) looks to be a good replacement.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Thanks Vernov and Simon. Inductor it is. I will hunt down the necessary replacement.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    66
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Chances are that it will burn again. It has overheated because of excessive current. You need to find out what was the cause for it to burn. It is probably driving something. Right now, can you tell which function is not working? Chris

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cba_melbourne View Post
    You need to find out what was the cause for it to burn.
    I think there may be clues to that in the original post.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Age
    71
    Posts
    6,127

    Default

    From a quick glance at the board, I would think the 10uH inductors are for filtering high frequency noise from the encoder power supply circuits. The HP 2630's are high speed opto isolators, so if you shorted the downfeed encoder supply, and the inductor burnt out, that's pretty fair indication that it was just supply side filtering. The other possibility might be a smps for encoder supply but I don't see the switcher?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    733

    Default

    They are pretty standard encapsulated inductors ! If you look at the others you will see "RS" marked on them, I'll bet that "Radio Spares" supplied them and will have replacements on stock.
    Best Regards:
    BaronJ.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayG View Post
    From a quick glance at the board, I would think the 10uH inductors are for filtering high frequency noise from the encoder power supply circuits. The HP 2630's are high speed opto isolators, so if you shorted the downfeed encoder supply, and the inductor burnt out, that's pretty fair indication that it was just supply side filtering. The other possibility might be a smps for encoder supply but I don't see the switcher?
    Thanks for the explanation Ray. I had no idea what it was. It melted and was hanging off the board. In the usual rush to get things running I clipped some of the covering and soldered it back in plate. No problems despite grinding a few things. I will replace it however as it's not right to leave it in that state.

    PS: It has been a bit of a distraction from the Boley.. hoping to get back onto it this weekend!

    Quote Originally Posted by BaronJ View Post
    They are pretty standard encapsulated inductors ! If you look at the others you will see "RS" marked on them, I'll bet that "Radio Spares" supplied them and will have replacements on stock.
    I am happy for you to supply the link to the direct replacement I have not been able to find the exact same type. Some of the posters above had linked to close alternatives. Ideally I would like it to be the same as the others. Maybe not possible given it is approaching 20 years old?

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    Of course, you can always wind your own inductor:
    http://www.circuitstoday.com/how-to-...-core-inductor

    It will stick out like a soar thumb though compared to the rest.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    733

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simonl View Post
    Of course, you can always wind your own inductor:
    http://www.circuitstoday.com/how-to-...-core-inductor

    It will stick out like a soar thumb though compared to the rest.

    Simon
    Hi Simon,

    I'm inclined to agree with you ! Its not a difficult task.

    Based on the OP last post it seems to have got hot enough to just melt the plastic case and unsolder itself from the board without doing any real damage.
    Best Regards:
    BaronJ.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    733

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by variant22 View Post
    Thanks for the explanation Ray. I had no idea what it was. It melted and was hanging off the board. In the usual rush to get things running I clipped some of the covering and soldered it back in plate. No problems despite grinding a few things. I will replace it however as it's not right to leave it in that state.

    PS: It has been a bit of a distraction from the Boley.. hoping to get back onto it this weekend!


    I am happy for you to supply the link to the direct replacement I have not been able to find the exact same type. Some of the posters above had linked to close alternatives. Ideally I would like it to be the same as the others. Maybe not possible given it is approaching 20 years old?
    Hi,

    This is the nearest that I could find ! A bit pricey though. I would think it unlikely that you would get a similar looking part. Still 10 uh is 10 uh

    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/leaded...7469616C26706D
    3D5E5B5C707B4C7D5C707B4E647D5C707B5A737D2D2C2F255C2E5D2B2426706F3D3926736E3D592673723D4175746F63
    6F727265637465642673613D3130756820617869616C20696E647563746F72732673743D4B4559574F52445F4D554C54495F4
    14C5048415F4E554D455249432673633D592677633D4E4F4E45267573743D313020756820417869616C20696E647563746F727326

    Watch out for the wrap ! It might just be easier to go to RS web site and search.

    I have a number of 10 uh chokes, unfortunately they are not encapsulated and are rated for 10 amps. At one time I had hundreds on stock some from WW2 that were used in transmitters.
    Best Regards:
    BaronJ.

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Here's three you could use from RS in Australia, so you should get free delivery. I forgot to see if they were in stock

    http://au.rs-online.com/web/p/leaded-inductors/7361015/
    http://au.rs-online.com/web/p/leaded-inductors/8523680/
    http://au.rs-online.com/web/p/leaded-inductors/0228141/

    Check the dimensions and see what fits best. Check the lead diameter unless you want to drill the pcb hole.

    You need to register with RS and I can't remember if they need an ABN but you can get those for free online but leave it a while and just change your mind about setting up a company. I think after three years they took my abn back because I hadn't used it.

    Watch out cos I noticed one was in a bag of 5 but they always price by component. When you check out nowadays its obvious if you got it wrong by the price, but in the old paper days before computers, mistakes were made! In my youth, I remember someone ordering 100 x m6 nuts, and got 100 bags of 100 nuts. Not surprisingly, they didn't all fit into the little plastic drawer for M6 nuts in the test room store.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,951

    Default

    Unless things have changed in the last year or so, you don't need an ABN to register an account with RS. I have an account with them and I didn't need a Co. name or ABN. Last thing I bought was a magnetic reed switch. It cost $7 and it was free delivery, very reasonable! It's worth setting up an account.

    Simon
    Girl, I don't wanna know about your mild-mannered alter ego or anything like that." I mean, you tell me you're, uh, super-mega-ultra-lightning babe? That's all right with me. I'm good. I'm good.

Similar Threads

  1. surface grinder
    By allterrain50 in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2014, 04:06 PM
  2. surface grinder
    By Arron in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Sep 2006, 11:43 AM
  3. Surface grinder
    By steptoe in forum METALWORK FORUM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2005, 12:21 PM
  4. Surface mount electrical conduit systems
    By numbat in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12th May 2005, 08:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •