Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default Source for 240V 15A NVR Safety Switch?

    Hello all,
    Does anyone know where one might acquire a 240V 15A safety switch similar to this 10A example?
    ProRouter Switch (Standard) woodworksupplies.com.au

    It would be for use with a CNC spindle and inverter which is mounted in a router table...
    https://www.timbecon.com.au/sherwood...e-inverter-kit

    I have come across 240V 15A switches without the plugs/box etc but not being an electrician I'm after a plug-n-plug version.

    The CNC spindle works brilliantly as a router motor by the way, other than the lack of a big red stop button

    Thank you.

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latrobe Valley
    Posts
    160

    Default

    G'day Emmjay.

    The spindle will be supplied with a VFD (inverter) which has it's own control panel. Do not install and control it with an NVR as it can damage the VFD.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latrobe Valley
    Posts
    160

    Default

    If you're looking to connect an E-Stop button, there should be terminals on the VFD that you can an emergency button to.
    They are normally extra low voltage so no electrical hazard and a walk in the park to connect to (just keep the fleshy bits away from the mains terminals)

    Happy to guide you if you post some pics of the VFD terminals.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you for your feedback Pinkus.

    Here's a pic of the VFD terminal wiring label and another of the front panel for reference...
    VFD Terminals.jpg VFD Front Panel.jpg

    I was envisaging the E-stop for use in emergencies only as I'm happy pressing the little red button on the VFD in normal use. I wasn't aware that an NVR could damage the VFD though so thank you for raising this point. I'm comfortable wiring up a low voltage switch so this may well be the best outcome all round.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Apologies for the upside down terminal label image above - the picture was the right way up when it left my laptop

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latrobe Valley
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Cheers for the pic. With the unit powered down, take the front cover off and hopefully it will reveal the rest of the terminals for us. Should reveal something like below -

    Huanuang.jpg

    Next question I have - If you hit emergency stop, it will stop the spindle, but the CNC stepper motors will keep moving. Did you want to wire your CNC to stop movement when the E-Stop is pressed too? E-stop buttons can have more than 1 set of contacts so it can be wired to more than one device.

    You might want to see if your CNC control board has a stop button input as well.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latrobe Valley
    Posts
    160

    Default

    BobL has done a few installs with these Huanyang VFD's
    VFD install summaries

    I will shoot him a PM to see if any settings need to be changed for the control to be both external push button as well as keypad.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you again for your advice Pintek.

    The terminals behind the front cover do seem to look just like those in your pic.
    VFD Terminals v2.jpg

    The spindle is being used as a router in a traditional cast iron router table so there are no CNC stepper motors to worry about. I do actually have a motorised router lift which has it's own separate control box. The lift only moves when I actively the up and down buttons so I don't need to have an emergency stop button for it, but it's a good point to consider nonetheless.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latrobe Valley
    Posts
    160

    Default

    My bad - Thought this was for a CNC. Just reached out to BobL. Pretty sure you will need to reconfigure one of the inputs (SPH, SPM or SPL) to become E-Stop in the program, then wire the E-Stop button between DCM and the input you choose.
    Hopefully he will confirm shortly.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    27,404

    Default

    I get asked to do this by phone, email and other means, so I am reluctant to conduct a full-on HY parameter setting tutorial via these forums.

    But here's pocket version.

    PD1 has to be set to "1" ie "external terminal"

    PD44 has to be set to "1" ie "FWD

    A simple switch is connected between terminals DCM and FOR.
    The switch can be pretty well anything - even a light switch because the voltages used for switching are low.

    Closing the switch should stop it, and opening it should stop it.

    It should start and stop according to the Acceleration/Decelerations times set by PD14 and 15 respectively.
    Factory settings on parameters on HY VFDs are not very consistent so check what they are before using it
    FWIW, I one received an HY VFD that had 400Hz set as the upper limit - should be 50Hz.

    The deceleration/acceleration times are machine type dependent.
    A machine with considerable rotational inertia will need longer times otherwise the VFD will constantly trip out.
    Your will have to experiment with times to see what is possible.

    OTOH
    If something like a 3+ second deceleration/acceleration time is used would not use this FWD/STP switch as an emergency stop - 3s is too slow for emergencies.

    A basic e-stop can be fitted to the supply side of THE VFD and the will usually stop a motor connected to an HY VFD faster than the usual stop start under deceleration/acceleration time.
    However, it's not a good idea to use this as a regular stop switch as repeated use of this is not good for the VFD PLUS its a PITA waiting for the VFD to reboot every time you want to restart the motor.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Katoomba NSW
    Posts
    4,670

    Default

    You can wire an on/off switch to FOR to start and stop the motor and you can wire the E/Stop to REV and set Pd45 to 13 (Emergency stop). This should cut power to the motor and it will coast stop rather than decel.
    The labels on the terminals are the factory default settings. FOR is digital input 1 and REV is digital input 2. You just have to make sure you change the defaults if you want a different function.
    Those were the droids I was looking for.
    https://autoblastgates.com.au

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sydney Upper North Shore
    Posts
    4,361

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL View Post
    .

    Closing the switch should stop it, and opening it should stop it.
    How do you start it back up again?

Similar Threads

  1. Remote 240V switch for dust collection
    By Thylacene in forum DUST EXTRACTION
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th January 2016, 03:33 PM
  2. Where to get a 240V motor switch with paddle?
    By Dengue in forum GENERAL & SMALL MACHINERY
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th April 2015, 12:34 AM
  3. 240v Thermostatic switch needed
    By Groggy in forum COMPUTERS
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th February 2012, 03:02 PM
  4. 240V 2xinput -> 1 output selector switch..?
    By Reno RSS Feed in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st June 2009, 02:40 PM
  5. 'New'? 10amp 240v remote switch
    By bsrlee in forum GENERAL & SMALL MACHINERY
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd May 2008, 10:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •