Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    9

    Default clipsal C Bus, wireless question

    hello

    I am putting in some wireless c bus switches to replace some old dimmers.

    I have three dimmers running some low voltage downlights. the dimmers have new lucci clipsal approved transformers.

    The Neo switch is 2 channel,

    is it possible to get three channel as i understand that i cant control the three different lights seperatly. ? In other words a two channel switch can only do two things.

    You can get eight buttons per switch but they are for other scenes in other rooms etc .

    am i right in thinking i will have to bunch three current lights into two or put in a second Neo switch. ?

    as i say the confusion lays in seeing switches that are 2 channel but have eight buttons.

    i am also getting trailing edge as im told they are the right model for the low voltage clipsal c bus dimmers, non wired.

    any sparkys i guess or people in the know have any knowledge here.

    thanks michael

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    the 'burn
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michael_jenny
    any sparkys i guess or people in the know have any knowledge here.
    you should be leaving the job to these sorts of people

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I am leaving it to them. they cant help me, hence this question. I have asked three electricians, and the local electrical supplier.

    i know the style of switch but no one seems to know much about c bus

    cheers michael

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,027

    Default

    I think they won't tell you in case it means that you are tempted to try putting it in yourself.
    Cheers,
    Clinton

    "Use your third eye" - Watson

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/clinton_findlay/

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Boyne Island, Queensland
    Age
    48
    Posts
    929

    Default

    I know bugger all about C bus so I just had a Google, there seems to be a fair bit of info about. Might be worth posting your question on the C Bus Forum.

    Or try http://www2.clipsal.com/cis/technical/
    Dan

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Murraylands, S.A.
    Posts
    186

    Default

    You can download the installation guides for cbus and starserve from the clipsal website. I have just finished laying all the cable for star serve. decided i dint need cbus!. im sure ill regret it some time in the next 20 years but by then it will be old hat and there will be new stuff around. I installed the Networking, Phone hub, Tv distribution and the video modulator for dvd pay tv etc.

    All the stuff is plug and play nil major programming to be done. All is cat5e cable and RG6 quad shield.

    If you have absolutley no idea do some reaserch. The Cbus is alot more involved. There is mains wiring. In starsevre it relies on 12v plug pack for power!

    Regards
    Allan

    Ps good luck

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    9

    Default

    thanks all

    spoke to Clipsal today. they have a tech helpline.

    still i am amazed how little knowledge around about the wireless product which has been out for a while now. I checked with two well known large electrical wholesalers and many building type electrical people in the last few days. You really need to chase up most yourself.

    The answer was often that stuff is all overpriced. that was c bus wired and wireless.

    swifton reading now on the cable install.. it seems simple and a good priced system, so long as your using it I think.

    cheers

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Morphett Vale, SA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michael_jenny
    The answer was often that stuff is all overpriced.
    Yep, which is why not a lot of sparky's (including me) know much about it. It looks really great in the shiny brochures but I think it is way over the top, price & complexity, to really bother with. A bit of careful planning for the lighting in your living areas & external areas makes c-bus to me a waste of money....spend it on a plasma tely instead

    Starserve as Swiftden was talking about is on the other hand a pretty good system for phone/TV/ethernet, I put it in my house & know many people who have done the same. With wireless networking very common now maybe hardwired ethernet is a bit redundant but I like the added security of it & if your wiring a new house then why not.

    Reg

Similar Threads

  1. Two-part Question
    By Rodgera in forum WOODIES JOKES
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th May 2006, 07:17 PM
  2. Computer Home network question
    By dazzler in forum NOTHING AT ALL TO DO WITH WOODWORK
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2006, 10:08 PM
  3. Another Cubby Question
    By Fozzy in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2006, 09:57 AM
  4. Question for NOTRALPH
    By echnidna in forum Woodies Quiz Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2005, 04:03 PM
  5. Newbie Question - wax on blanks
    By Lance in forum WOODTURNING - GENERAL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2000, 04:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •