Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    2,671

    Default New power point fed from AirCon Isolator Switch?

    Hi all,

    I've just moved into a sweet little 2Br unit.

    Need some wisdom, from those wise in these matters!
    I thought to ask the forum before I go to the expense of talking with a sparky.

    The balcony outside has no power point but it does have a monster aircon.

    Can I get (as in, Is It Allowed under Ze Rules) to put a power point (an outdoors style water proof) fed from this isolation switch?

    The power board says the AirCon has an RCBO 20A going to it.

    Clearly the juice for the new point/s would be fed from the input side of things.... or is it best, if one can, to run it after the isolator switch?

    I am in Canberra ACT if it is of any consequence.

    It is simply so I can plug in my small electric hibachi, run the scrollsaw and put up my xmas lights blink blink!

    TIA dudes!

    IMG_20190801_202835.jpg IMG_20190801_202845 (1).jpg

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595

    Default

    unlikely. I am not familiar with rules and regs, but this would be a specific purpose connection (the AirCon) on the fuseboard, and a GPO would need to be on a GPO circuit. Is there a GPO on the inside wall along the balcony? Often that's the simplest answer, punch thru from the inside where the power exists.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    23,220

    Default

    My understanding of the regs is large draw devices like large AC units must be on their own breaker with nothing else attached.

    When our last installed AC unit was hooked up to one of the existing 10A house circuits I queried this with the supplier of the AC and he agreed and said that the sparky he had sent around to do the install had done this once too often and was the last time he would use him. Another sparky came around within 24 hours and installed another breaker just for that AC.

    In terms of electrical safety, if a cross over switch was fitted (either the AC or the other power point was ACTIVE) there should be no safety issues, whether that meets code is another issue.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Kyabram, Victoria, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    170

    Default

    Definite no go. High power items need to be on their own circuit. As mentioned above, if there's an internal powerpoint on the same wall, that can probably used to provide power.

Similar Threads

  1. what is the horse power rating of my aircon??
    By Reno RSS Feed in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 12:30 AM
  2. How much power does the fan only setting of a small window aircon use?
    By qld in forum NOTHING AT ALL TO DO WITH WOODWORK
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2009, 07:26 PM
  3. power point safety what is the recommended number of power points in a average house
    By Reno RSS Feed in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th May 2009, 01:30 AM
  4. Light Switch and Power Point Plates
    By seth in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2007, 09:13 PM
  5. Use of power point ok?
    By Manda in forum PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, HEATING, COOLING, etc
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2006, 04:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •