Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Nut Allergies and Oils

Hi All,

I have done a search and seen this mentioned, but no real answer on whether it is a proper concern.

I am making a chopping board of brush box - primarily as a test for some of the things I am doing with my table top.

As part of that, I want to see what a bit of Organoil (hard burnishing) would do to the look of the wood, so I am considering finishing the board with that. Yes - i realise that current thinking suggests that no finish at all would be better, but as I said I am using this as a test piece anyway.

However, we have a young baby who is not yet up to nuts, as they are quite high on the "possible allergic reaction" list, so we're waiting a while longer before introducing her to them.

Will nut oils, after curing, still be present enough to worry about allergies?

Cheerio,
    sCORCH
    Yes - I'm a lawyer.
    No - I won't bill you for reading this.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Nut allergies duffer in each person as does toxicity levels

Some just walking into a room is enough

hope you find she dosen't have any worries that way

Life is full of nuts just look at this forum

Its the proteins in nuts (or milk, fish, whatever) that produce the allergic reaction. Oils are generally very highly refined and are free of these proteins. The exceptions are some raw oils, if you see a sediment be wary but most commercial cooking oils are fine. Ive never heard of allergies to Olive Oil.

Your main concern will be peanuts as this is the most common allergy. Cottonseed is next, Cottonseed protein is highly allergy provoking yet it is commonly sold as refined oil for frying. A lot of take aways use it. Next will be tree nuts, walnuts, almonds and the like.