Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Thread: Magic??? Wands

Question Magic??? Wands

Hi all
    I have been turning now for a couple of years but I have mostly turned bowls and hollow forms so I limited skills turning between centres.

Recently an acquaintance asked me to turn some magic wands for her business. (I told her that I could turn some wands, but magic???)

The wands need to be about 40 cm long and quite thin. (About 10-12mm at the handle end and tapering to a point.) I have turned several and the results are acceptable.

My question is Oh Wizards of Woodwork, how do I stop the wood from bowing as it turns in the lathe? I have been supporting the back of the work with my free hand as I cut but I still tend to get some "ridges" and have to sand more than I like.:mad:

I would appreciate any advice or incantations that you think would help.
    Thanks
    Wayne.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

You can build (or buy) a support for thin spindle turning. They are not complex and there should be plenty of posts on the matter. I have a book by Richard Raffan that shows a home-made one and I am sure that most woodturning supply places would have a commercial one.

Cam

have a look here, it will give you an idea of what is required, you can the scale it to suit your needs.

steady rest pdf file
    I try and do new things twice.. the first time to see if I can do it.. the second time to see if I like it
    Kev

Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Blanch
    Hi all
    I have been turning now for a couple of years but I have mostly turned bowls and hollow forms so I limited skills turning between centres.

Recently an acquaintance asked me to turn some magic wands for her business. (I told her that I could turn some wands, but magic???)