Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Post Secondhand lathes

Hi
    I'm looking out for a secondhand lathe. I am a beginner but would still like to purchase a quality product. My budget (for lathe only) would be around $600 - $1000. You may also be able to indicate particular areas (of wear)to watch out for.

Thanks for your help
    Brax

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Lightbulb

Welcome to the Group Brax.

Do you really want a second hand lathe for that price?? I heard on the radio that Total Tools have a wood lathe on sale at the moment for around $400 (I think). maybe you should give them a go.

I can not remember IF there is a store in Bendigo or not.

From my point of view, the only things I would be looking out for is, strenght of the head and tail-stock.

My current lathe (only in use now until FRIDAY!!!) is one of the cheap no-name chineese types, the head-stock assembly is made out of 3mm plate, and BOLTED!! to the pressed metal lathe bed. I find that every time I apply some pressure to the work-piece using the TAIL-STOCK, the head end is pushed back and up, giving me a work-piece that may be horizontally OK, but of center in the vertical axis.

Also check that the head and tail-stocks line up and meet in the correct position. Run the tail stock with the center in place up the the head-stock with the spur drive or some other center in place, and make sure that both points meet.

Kev.

[This message has been edited by Brudda (edited 28 October 2002).]
    I try and do new things twice.. the first time to see if I can do it.. the second time to see if I like it
    Kev

Cool

but Brudda for $1K u could get a good second hand machine and mybe a couple extras if its a gettin out of it due to ......<put reason in> ........type of sale
    Pete
    What this country needs are more unemployed politicians.
    Edward Langley, Artist (1928-1995)