Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy Why is this %^%##!! scraper grabbing????

I have been turning of and on for a while and I am no expert but have made a few decent pieces. The last few bowls I have been turning I have had problems finishing the bottom with a scraper. Make that two different scrapers! I have put the tool rest as far as possible into the bowl (I have a rounded one so it goes in a fair way) have very little overhang. Gently gently (after it almost ripped the bowl out of the chuck - not that I think I was being too aggressive) but no, it grabs and tears a chuck out of the bottom :mad: :mad: . Mostly happens towards the sides. Have reduced rpm but still having problems. Re-sharpened the scraper (70 deg) but still not joy...

Any hints??

Thanks, Arno

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

is it particually tough wood, (buggerwood)

Try not putting the scraper flat on the tool rest. that is, angle it so it is sheerscraping. It a bit hard when doing details on the bottom, though. i aloso find that if you can get the little carbide burnishers that create a burr on the end of your scraper it will not cut as much and reduce catching.

Hey Arno - no expert myself, but what angle are you holding the scraper at and at what hieght is the tool rest. From what I know, the tool rest should be above centre hieght and the the scraper should be held with the cutting edge to the bowl slightly downwards.
    Hope that makes sense - I know what I meant:confused: .

I'm sure the guy's here will come up with a solution to your problem.
    Cheers,
    Andy

"There's more wisdom gained in listening than in speaking"

Hi Arno,
    Could be any of a hundred things, but here are a couple of ideas.
    Are the corners of the scraper sharp or rounded. A sharp corner can catch and cause this kind of problem.