Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Like to buy a cheap lathe

Firstly, I hope Bitingmidge doesn't see this or I will be in for a bit of a ribbing.

I would like to buy a cheap lathe to experiment with a bit of turning.

I have never done any type of wood turning before what so ever.

Firstly I would like to turn up some chisel handles and plane knobs.

Maybe some small bowls, platters etc in the future, and a high probability of longer turnings between centres.

I don't really have budget limitations but at this stage I am thinking GMC after reading some favourable threads on here regarding very basic turning.

I think the GMC comes with a few chisels which should get me started.

Are there any other cheap lathes in the price range of the GMC (I think less than $200) which I should consider?

If I was to buy the GMC are there any enhancements I should do, perhaps a quality chuck?

Can anybody recommend a cheapish set of chisels if they think the GMC ones won't cut it (pun intended )

How about a good video to get me started on the right path?

Cheers, Jack
    "There is no dark side of the moon really. Matter of fact it's all dark."

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

If you want to enhance the GMC.....throw it in the bay!!!!

I started with a GMC, and it CANNOT do what you say you want to do. If you want to have a go at turning, then the GMC is not the way to go. All that will happen, is that you will get frustrated, then discouraged, then off, and give it up. There is a lot of enjoyment to be gained from turning, and the GMC will ruin it for you.

I'll leave it to others, more qualified, to recommend a low cost lathe for starting.

EDIT: Okay, so in Townsville you probably haven't got a bay. So the next best enhancement is an Oxy set.
    Last edited by chrisb691; 12th November 2006 at 09:11 PM. Reason: typo
    Chris