Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Cool Newbie Questions!!!

Hi there! I am wondering a few things, and don't know how to ask them so bear with me please ^.^

First, I am pretty new to wood working. My dad introduced me to fretwork about 4 months ago and I was hooked! I like making puzzles, and when I mentioned it to one of my dads friends, he told me I should try intarsia. So to the questions: How do I start? What do I need? How hard is it?

And last, and not as important (the thing which got me wondering) is can I make a picture into an intarsia piece? If so, how? Here is the picture that I want to be able to do someday:

Thanks for y'alls time! ^.^ Hope y'all can help!

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

giday silver ,the easiest way to get going is to buy judy gale roberts book , easy to make intarsia ,it has everything you need to know to get started and theres a full pattern and sanding explanation of 2 dolphins in it for a first project . you want something pretty easy first up . any picture can be made into intarsia but some adjustments will need to be made .thats an interesting pic of a dog on fire , dont quiet understand it ?

The picture is easy to understand.

The dog wouldn't bark.

Owner covers dog in petrol, lights match, dog goes woof!

thanks ^.^ And the picture of the dog is the main character of one of my favorite games O'kami! It mixes Japanese myths all into one game and makes one heck of a story!!! Done in the traditional calligraphy type painting they use ^.^. and I'll look into that book, thanks! ^.^

btw, this might make a better picture:

Hi Silver. I'm a newbie as well. On this side of the pond "Canada" Garnet Hall is as good as it gets. His web site is SawBird.com (sorry I don't know how to make a link) he has patterns and help from beginner to expert. Nice pic, I'm sure you could make that. Hope this helps. Russ